Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Maps (Including Historical Maps)
16th- Early 20th Century Maps of Africa
Features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Collection was started nearly 20 years ago, and focuses primarily on cartography of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, but also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript.
Historic Maps in K-12 Classrooms
Welcome to Historic Maps in K-12 Classrooms. This resource for K-12 teachers and students developed by the Hermon Dunlap Smith Center for the History of Cartography at the Newberry Library is designed to bring historically significant map documents into your classroom. Inside are high quality images of historic map documents that illustrate the geographical dimensions of American history.
Historical Map Web Sites
Extensive list of links to historical map collections online. From the Perry-Castaneda Library.
Mapping History: American History
The Mapping History Project has been designed to provide interactive and animated representations of fundamental historical problems and/or illustrations of historical events, developments, and dynamics. The material is copyrighted, but is open and available to academic users. Inquires about the re-use of the material in a commercial or academic context should be sent to the editors.
Old Maps Online
Allows the user to search for online historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date.
World Digital LIbrary: Maps
More than 300 map images, dating from 8000BC to 1949AD and representing at least 100 geographic areas.
Worldmapper is a collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
There are now nearly 700 maps. Maps 1-366 are also available as PDF posters. Use the menu above to find a map of interest. Worldmapper now als feature a series of population maps using our novel gridded cartogram approach: Worldmapper Population Atlas
If you are interested in more background on map projections, read the short introductions about Worldmapper and map projections and gridded cartograms as a map projection.
World War II Military Situation Maps - Library of Congress
This collection contains maps showing troop positions beginning on June 6, 1944 to July 26, 1945. Starting with the D-Day Invasion, the maps give daily details on the military campaigns in Western Europe, showing the progress of the Allied Forces as they push towards Germany. Some of the sheets are accompanied by a declassified "G-3 Report" giving detailed information on troop positions for the period 3 Mar. 1945-26 July 1945. These maps and reports were used by the commanders of the United States forces in their evaluation of the campaigns and for planning future strategies.