Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
NEW - OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!
Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.
OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. American School Board Journal is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time and Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Need help? Click here.
Why would I use a database?
Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. The following are a selection of some of the interdisciplinary databases available through the FAU Libraries.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
General OneFile (Gale)
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
JSTOR can be searched by using keywords in a Basic Search screen or by using other options (e.g. article title) in the Advanced Search screen. It can also be searched by selecting the Browse option and viewing subject or title lists of journals and their contents.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Use this database for finding criticisms of works, biographies of authors and other literary information. Covers fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
A collection of scholarly journals and books in humanities, mathematics and social science disciplines.
Please note: Project Muse requires more than one instance of authentication to access content. For assistance, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org
SIRS Knowledge Source
Full-text articles on social, scientific, health, historic, economic, business, political and global issues.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Find Doctoral Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDT) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.