Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Subject Terms for Womens Studies
The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Women Studies that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
- African American feminists
- African American women
- Feminism and Art
- Feminism and Literature
- Feminist Motion Pictures
- Feminist Criticism
- Feminist Theory
- Mass Media and Women
- Minority Women
- Women Authors, Cuban
- Women, Hawaiian
- Women's Rights--United States
- Women's Studies
American Periodicals (Proquest)
Access to over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1900; includes women's magazines such as The Ladies' Home Journal, Ladies Afternoon Visitor, and Ladies Weekly Museum.
Black Women Writers
With 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora in electronic format for the first time. Facing sexism and racism at the same time, these authors have had to create their own identities and movements. This collection documents that effort from its earliest beginnings.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Features articles to ethnic, minority, and native magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Free index that features citations to journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages. Books by single authors are not indexed here.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides information on subjects such as family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas includin
Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life).
[ Access is limited to six (6) simultaneous users. ]
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Latin American Women Writers
With 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, and 300 plays, Latin American Women Writers accomplishes the difficult task of bringing together the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Contents/Info: This collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. The database provides access to citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and more.
Web of Science
Arts and Humanities and Social Science Citation Indexes Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar's Edition
The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.
Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities
Student Tech Fee Funded
Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Global in scope and offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.
Off Campus Connect
If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself for off campus access through Off Campus Connect.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.