LibGuides: Urban and Regional Planning: Journals

Academic journals are indispensable resources in the field of Urban and Regional Planning, providing scholars, students, and professionals with access to cutting-edge research, critical analyses, and innovative perspectives on urban development. At the FAU Libraries, our collection of academic journals in Urban and Regional Planning offers a wealth of scholarly insights and knowledge on various aspects of urbanization, land use, transportation, sustainability, and community development.

These journals publish peer-reviewed articles authored by leading experts and researchers in the field, covering a wide range of topics and methodologies. From empirical studies and theoretical frameworks to policy analyses and case studies, academic journals in Urban and Regional Planning offer diverse perspectives and rigorous research findings that contribute to the advancement of knowledge in the discipline.

Accessing academic journals through the FAU Libraries provides users with the latest research findings, trends, and debates in Urban and Regional Planning, enabling them to stay informed about current developments and emerging issues in the field. Whether conducting research, preparing assignments, or staying abreast of industry trends, our collection of academic journals serves as a valuable resource for students, faculty, and practitioners alike.

Furthermore, academic journals play a crucial role in fostering scholarly discourse, facilitating interdisciplinary collaboration, and promoting evidence-based decision-making in urban planning practice. By engaging with peer-reviewed research published in academic journals, users can deepen their understanding of complex urban challenges and contribute to the development of innovative solutions for sustainable urban development.

Overall, academic journals are essential tools for advancing knowledge and promoting excellence in Urban and Regional Planning, and the FAU Libraries are proud to offer access to a diverse and comprehensive collection of journals in the field.

Cties (London, England) Cities publishes articles on many aspects of urban planning and policy. It distinguishes itself by providing an international and interdisciplinary platform for the exchange of ideas and information among urban planners, policy makers and analysts, and urbanists from all disciplines. The primary aims of the journal are to analyze and assess past and present urban development and management as a reflection of effective, ineffective and non-existent planning policies; and the promotion of the implementation of appropriate urban policies in both the developed and the developing world. Topics covered include: urban adaptation to climate change; gentrification and housing; homelessness and welfare services; urban management; public-private sector cooperation; development and planning problems; urban regeneration; neighborhood conservation and urban design; immigration and international labor migration; urban politics; urban theory; urban governance; smart cities and regions; infrastructure; livability and quality of life; greening; and the complexities of creating sustainable cities.
Habitat International Habitat International is dedicated to the study of urban and rural human settlements: their planning, design, production and management. Its main focus is on urbanisation in its broadest sense in the developing world. However, increasingly the interrelationships and linkages between cities and towns in the developing and developed worlds are becoming apparent and solutions to the problems that result are urgently required. The economic, social, technological and political systems of the world are intertwined and changes in one region almost always affect other regions. Habitat International welcomes reports of research on urban issues such as policy and implementation, the links between planning, building and land, finance and management, urban design, the interaction between the natural environment and urban areas the provision of urban services and other related problems.
International Journal of Urban and Regional Research International Journal of Urban and Regional Research is a groundbreaking forum for intellectual debate, IJURR is at the forefront of urban and regional research. With a cutting edge approach to linking theoretical development and empirical research, and a consistent demand for quality, IJURR encompasses key material from an unparalleled range of critical, comparative and geographic perspectives. Embracing a multidisciplinary approach to the field, IJURR is essential reading for social scientists with a concern for the complex, changing roles and futures of cities and regions.
Journal of Public Transportation The Journal of Public Transportation is an international peer-reviewed open access journal. The Journal contains original research associated with various forms of public transportation. Topics are approached from a variety of academic disciplines, including engineering, economics, behavioral sciences, planning, geography, public policy, data science, and others, and include methodological, technological, and policy aspects. Emphasis is placed on the identification of innovative solutions to public transportation problems.
Journal of the American Planning Association Since 1935, the quarterly Journal of the American Planning Association ( JAPA ) has published research, commentaries, and book reviews useful to practicing planners, policymakers, scholars, students, and citizens of urban, suburban, and rural areas. JAPA publishes double-anonymized peer reviewed, original research and analysis. It aspires to bring insight to planning the future, to air a variety of perspectives, to publish the highest quality work, and to engage readers. JAPA is interested in manuscripts that examine historical or contemporary planning experience, broadly defined, in domestic or global contexts, and that do at least one of the following: contribute to the theoretical and conceptual foundation of planning; improve the link between planning and successful policy implementation; advance the methods used in planning practice and planning research; explain empirical relationships important to planning; interpret noteworthy physical, economic, and social phenomena that have spatial dimensions; or analyze significant consequences of planning approaches, processes, and contexts. JAPA prefers vivid and direct writing in the active voice. We particularly seek timely papers that offer significant research news.
Journal of Urban Economics The Journal of Urban Economics provides a focal point for the publication of research papers in the rapidly expanding field of urban economics. It publishes papers of great scholarly merit on a wide range of topics and employing a wide range of approaches to urban economics. The Journal welcomes papers that are theoretical or empirical, positive or normative. Although the Journal is not intended to be multidisciplinary, papers by noneconomists are welcome if they are of interest to economists. Brief Notes are also published if they lie within the purview of the Journal and if they contain new information, comment on published work, or new theoretical suggestions.
Journal of Urban Technology The goal of the Journal of Urban Technology is, through education and discussion, to maximize the positive and minimize the adverse effects of technology on cities. The journal provides a forum for a dialogue between specialists and non-specialists (or among practitioners of different specialities) and is designed for both scholars and a general audience whose businesses, occupations, professions, or studies require that they understand how technologies affect and are affected by urban environments. The Journal of Urban Technology publishes articles that review and analyze developments in urban technologies as well as articles that study the history and the political, economic, environmental, social, aesthetic, and ethical effects of those technologies.
Landscape and Urban Planning Landscape and Urban Planning is an international journal aimed at advancing conceptual, scientific, and applied understandings of landscape in order to promote sustainable solutions for landscape change. Landscapes are visible and integrative social-ecological systems with variable spatial and temporal dimensions. They have expressive aesthetic, natural, and cultural qualities that are perceived and valued by people in multiple ways and invite actions resulting in landscape change. Landscapes are increasingly urban in nature and ecologically and culturally sensitive to changes at local through global scales. Multiple disciplines and perspectives are required to understand landscapes and align social and ecological values to ensure the sustainability of landscapes. The journal is based on the premise that landscape science linked to planning and design can provide mutually supportive outcomes for people and nature. Landscape science brings landscape ecology and urban ecology together with other disciplines and cross-disciplinary fields to identify patterns and understand social-ecological processes influencing landscape change. Landscape planning brings landscape architecture, urban and regional planning, landscape and ecological engineering, and other practice-oriented fields to bear in processes for identifying problems and analyzing, synthesizing, and evaluating desirable alternatives for landscape change. Landscape design brings plans, designs, management prescriptions, policies and other activities and form-giving products to bear in effecting landscape change. The implementation of landscape planning and design also generates new patterns of evidence and hypotheses for further research, providing an integral link with landscape science and encouraging transdisciplinary collaborations to build robust knowledge and problem solving capacity.
Regional Science and Urban Economics Regional Science and Urban Economics facilitates and encourages high-quality scholarship on important issues in regional and urban economics. It publishes significant contributions that are theoretical or empirical, positive or normative. It solicits original papers with a spatial dimension that can be of interest to economists. Empirical papers studying causal mechanisms are expected to propose a convincing identification strategy.
Urban Forestry & Urban Greening Urban Forestry and Urban Greening is a refereed, international journal aimed at presenting high-quality research with urban and peri-urban woody and non-woody vegetation and its use, planning, design, establishment and management as its main topics. Urban Forestry and Urban Greening concentrates on all tree-dominated (as joint together in urban forests) as well as other green resources in and around urban areas, such as woodlands, public and private urban parks and gardens, urban nature areas, street tree and square plantations, botanical gardens and cemeteries, building envelop greening, etc. The journal welcomes basic and applied research papers, as well as review papers and short communications. Contributions should focus on one or more of the following aspects: Form, functions, and ecosystem services of urban forests and other vegetation, including aspects of urban environmental science and urban ecology. Policy-making, planning and design related to urban forests and other vegetation. Selection and establishment of tree resources and other vegetation for urban environments. Management of urban forests and other vegetation. The ecosystem services urban vegetation provides. Original contributions of a high academic standard are invited from a wide range of disciplines and fields, including forestry, biology, horticulture, arboriculture, landscape ecology, pathology, soil science, hydrology, landscape architecture, landscape planning, urban planning and design, environmental/ecological economics, environmental sociology, environmental psychology, public health, and education. Special attention will be given to interdisciplinary research as developed under the approaches of, for example, urban forestry, arboriculture, urban greening, urban ecology, urban health, urban agriculture, urban horticulture, urban silviculture, and community forestry.

Last updated on Apr 18, 2024 8:49 AM