LibGuides: Film: Journals

Immerse yourself in the captivating realm of Film, Television, and Media Studies through the extensive collection of scholarly journals available at university libraries. These journals are invaluable resources for students, researchers, and faculty members, offering access to cutting-edge research, critical analyses, and theoretical perspectives spanning various field topics.

At university libraries, you’ll find a diverse selection of journals that cover essential areas such as film studies, television and broadcasting, digital media, and media culture. Each publication provides a unique lens through which to explore the intricate dynamics of visual storytelling and its impact on society. For instance, journals like Film Quarterly delve into contemporary and classic cinema, offering in-depth analyses that enrich your understanding of film aesthetics and narrative techniques. Similarly, Television & New Media examines the evolving landscape of television in the context of digital technologies, providing insights into how these changes affect production and audience engagement.

Notable journals such as the Journal of Film and Video and Critical Studies in Television further contribute to the discourse by exploring various aspects of film and video production, history, and theory. They feature peer-reviewed articles, empirical studies, and critical reviews authored by renowned scholars and industry experts, ensuring that readers are exposed to a rich tapestry of perspectives and methodologies. Engaging with these scholarly resources can deepen your understanding of the complex interplay between film, television, and media. Whether you're investigating specific research topics, staying informed about emerging trends, or seeking inspiration for your academic pursuits, these journals offer a wealth of knowledge and insight. They illuminate contemporary issues and debates shaping the communication landscape and empower you to contribute to the ongoing dialogue in this dynamic and ever-evolving field.

In essence, the collection of Film, Television, and Media Studies journals available at university libraries serves as an indispensable tool for anyone looking to explore the fascinating world of visual culture and its profound impact on society.

Adaptation: The Journal of Literature on Screen Studies Adaptation is an international, peer-reviewed journal, offering academic articles, film and book reviews, including both book to screen adaptation, screen to book adaptation, popular and ‘classic’ adaptations, theatre and novel screen adaptations, television, animation, soundtracks, production issues and genres in literature on screen. Adaptation provides an international forum to theorise and interrogate the phenomenon of literature on screen from both a literary and film studies perspective.
Black Camera Black Camera is devoted to the study and documentation of the black cinematic experience and is the only scholarly film journal of its kind in the United States. It regularly features essays and interviews that engage film in social as well as political distribution, and production of film in local, regional, national, and transnational settings and environments.
Camera Obscura Camera Obscura provides a forum for scholarship and debate on feminism, culture, and media studies. The journal encourages contributions in areas such as the conjunctions of gender, race, class, and sexuality with audiovisual culture; new histories and theories of film, television, video, and digital media; and politically engaged approaches to a range of media practices.
Cinema Journal Formerly Cinema Journal, through volume 57, no.4, Summer 2018 (E-ISSN: 1527-2087, Print ISSN: 0009-7101). JCMS: Journal of Cinema and Media Studies is the peer-reviewed, scholarly publication of the Society for Cinema and Media Studies (SCMS). JCMS's basic mission is to foster engaged debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies. We are committed to the aesthetic, political, and cultural interpretation of these media and their production, circulation, and reception. To that end, JCMS is dedicated to intellectual diversity of all kinds. We publish critical inquiry into the global, national, and local circulation of a wide variety of media. We seek to promote a range of approaches to film and media studies and attendant fields, including (but not limited to) digital media, sound studies, visual culture, video game studies, fan studies, and avant-garde and experimental film and media practices. We do not adhere to any methodological approach to media studies, nor do we focus on particular emphases in the field. The journal is open to all areas of humanities-oriented scholarship in media studies, including digital humanities.
Film & History Published twice each year, Film & History: An Interdisciplinary Journal is a non-profit, peer-reviewed journal affiliated with the American Historical Association and hosted by Lawrence University since 2012. It has been published continuously since 1971. Film & History welcomes article-length manuscripts of 4,000-7,000 words on the following topics: The effect of historical events on films, genres, or cultural & aesthetic standards The effect of films or film genres on historical or cultural events The aesthetic or rhetorical construction of history itself, as rendered in film The aesthetic premises or consequences of film-related media in historical context Use of motion pictures, television, and related media in the classroom The history, holdings, and current status of film and television archives New or controversial ways of presenting history in film and television Reviews of books and video/films and broadcasts addressing important themes or events
Film-Philosophy Film-Philosophy is dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy, exploring the ways in which films develop and contribute to philosophical discussion. The journal also provides a forum for the thoughtful re-evaluation of key aspects of both film studies and philosophy as academic disciplines.
Film Comment Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews.
Film Criticism Film Criticism is a peer-reviewed, online publication bringing together scholarship in the field of cinema and media studies since 1975.
Film Journal International Monthly trades magazine publishing reviews of major and independent film release, profiles of filmmakers and industry executives, articles on industry trends and new technologies, construction and design, theatre sound, equipment and concessions.
Film Quarterly Film Quarterly, published since 1958, provides readers with insightful analyses of film, the film industry, and international cinemas. More than a glimpse behind the scenes, Film Quarterly offers serious film lovers in-depth articles, reviews, and interviews that examine all aspects of film history, film theory, and the impact of film, video, and television on culture and society.
Journal of Chinese Cinemas Journal of Chinese Cinemas publishes on the study of Chinese film, drawing on the recent world-wide growth of interest in Chinese cinemas.
Journal of Cinema & Media Studies Publishes essays on a wide variety of subjects from diverse methodological perspectives. A "Professional Notes" section informs Society of Cinema and Media Studies readers about upcoming events, research opportunities, and the latest published research.
Journal of Japanese & Korean cinema. Publishes articles on the cinema of Japan and Korea, exploring relationships between Japanese and Korean film, globalized film-making; and cultural identity.
The Moving Image The Moving Image is an exciting new journal that deals with crucial issues surrounding the preservation and restoration of film, television, video, and digital moving images. The journal offers detailed profiles of moving image collections, behind-the-scenes looks at the techniques used to preserve and restore moving images, and theoretical and visionary articles on the future of the field.
New Review of Film and Television Studies Publishes peer-reviewed research in film and television studies on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture.
Science Fiction Film and Television Science Fiction Film and Television is a biannual, peer-reviewed journal published by Liverpool University Press. Edited by Mark Bould (UWE) and Sherryl Vint (Brock University), with an international board of advisory editors, it encourages dialogue among the scholarly and intellectual communities of film studies, sf studies and television studies.
Spectator The University of Southern California Journal of Film and Television, available online 1997-present.
Studies in French Cinema French Screen Studies publishes on French and francophone cinema, exploring the cultural and technical aspects of French cinema from a range of perspectives.
Television & New Media Television & New Media is an international journal showcasing key intellectual developments in television and new media studies. The journal focuses on critical and cultural studies approaches to media and their application across social science and humanities disciplines. TVNM is particularly focused on scholarship that addresses the power dynamics of media cultures, industries, networks, and audiences.
Sight and Sound A publication of the British Film Institute. Feature articles and interviews on recent motion pictures, notes on festivals, book reviews and film and video reviews.