Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
Communication and Media Studies Databases: A-G
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
The Asian Film Online streaming video collection includes narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts featuring Asian voices addressing Asian issues.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes literature from the field of communication and other relevant disciplines. Subjects include general communication, communication theory, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication, international literature in film studies, crisis communication, public opinions, and more.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
For remote access using FAU login credentials, a temporary work-around is necessary.
Please click Kanopy. In the search box, type 'criterion'.
The Criterion Collection is committed to publishing the defining moments of cinema by building a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films.
Digital Campus (Swank) This link opens in a new window
Digital Campus (Swank) does not support Internet Explorer and some earlier versions of Firefox and Chrome.
Digital Campus by Swank Motion Pictures, Inc. allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside of the classroom. Providing digital access to course-related films allows educators to enhance the learning experience without taking up valuable class time. Faculty who wish to request a movie may fill out the Digital Campus Movie Request Form. We now have access to numerous documentaries and the top 200 films on Digital Campus.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This resource is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This resource contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.
Film Studies Collection (Kanopy) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes a variety of films from producers such as the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Breaking Glass Pictures, Flicker Alley, TMW Media, Stash Media, and HBO, and features a variety of genres and themes including animation, documentaries, art cinema, French New Wave, cult classics, silent films, noir, westerns, melodrama, yakuza pictures, and horror.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary collection provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculumrace and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Communication and Media Studies Databases: H-Z
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 This link opens in a new window
This collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry through The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Internet Movie Database This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Online movie database.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
The March of Time, Time Inc.'s 1935-1967 controversial film series, is now available online in a single, cross- searchable collection. These videos have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic films as audiences did in earlier decades.
Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection This link opens in a new window
The films in this collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.
Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
Network television's longest running program (premiering in 1947), Meet the Press, is now searchable on a single platform, and includes thousands of interviews, panels, and debates. Many episodes have not been seen since their original broadcast.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990????Present includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, and Global Lens. All the films were shown at major festivals, including some 50 award winning short films.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The PBS Video Collection assembles over 1,000 of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of PBS. Some of the films and series included are American Experience, Empires, Freedom, Frontline, Great Performances, NOVA, and the films of Ken Burns, Michael Wood, and more.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Ringling Collection This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of 19th Century American and British actors and actresses. There are more than 6,000 images in this digital collection depicting more than 3,000 actors and actresses. The Collection is important not simply for its pictures of the idols of a bygone era, but for its depictions of clothing, hair styles and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes. The original collection is housed in the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts in the Smathers Libraries' Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida.
Silent Film Online This link opens in a new window
Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. The database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s, and includes the most complete, authoritative versions of the highest quality from leading distributors.
