Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
American Memory Map Collection (Library of Congress)
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items. Map Collections represent only a tiny fraction of those converted to digital form. Map Collections focuses on Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection. Map Collections is organized according to seven major categories. Because a map will be assigned to only one category unless it is part of more than one core collection, searching Map Collections at this level will provide the most complete results since the indexes for all categories are searched simultaneously.
Collections with Maps (Library of Congress)
This collection of maps is made up of various types of maps, from different eras and time periods.
Library of Congress Historical Map Collection
Includes Age of Discovery, Revolutionary War, France in America, Civil War, and others.
Mapping the National Parks
Maps from the 17th Century until the present dealing with the history, cultural aspects, and geological formations of areas that became National Parks.
Ordinance Survey Maps
Online maps of England, Wales, and Scotland from the U.K. Government.
Railroad Maps 1828-1900
Over 600 digital maps covering railroads and commercial transportation in the United States.
Sandborn Fire Insurance Maps (Library of Congress)
This search is from the Library of Congress and offers up their full collection of Sandborn Fire Insurance maps.
United States Digital Map Library (US GenWeb Archives Project)
This is the main page to access the maps collections. Currently, three main sections of maps are available, with a new section on Civil War maps coming soon. If you have any problem accessing these pages or have ideas for other maps we can include here, be sure to contact Adrian Williams. State and County Maps: This collection represents the bulk of the library and contains our most commonly accessed files. Please choose a state from the map or the table, and you will be taken to the page for that state.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Large collection of digitized historical maps searchable by location, date , or theme.
Digital Commonwealth/ Maps & Atlases
Contains over 16,000 digitized maps from various Massachusetts collections presented by the Boston Public Library.
Digital Commonwealth: Massachusetts Collections Online: Maps/Atlases
Access to digitized copies of maps and atlases held by Massachusetts libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
Digital History Maps
Historic Maps (by year); Maps as Teaching Tools; Maps by Topic; United States Maps; Maps by ... 1690 A Map of ye English Empire in the Continent of America.
Digital Maps Collection at Norman B. Leventhal Maps & Education Center at the Boston Public Library
This amazing digital collection of maps offers 11,821 items covering but not limited to North America, the United States, Massachusetts, Europe, Canada, and more.
DPLA - Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge. There are 591,521 results for maps.
New York Public Library Digital Map Collection
HIstorical maps from the United States and around the world.
New York Public Library Digital Map Collection
Collection features maps from New York City and New York State as well as a variety of topical and international maps.
Digital Alabama Collection (University of Alabama)
Alabama Maps is an ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Alabama. This website is divided into four sections: the Contemporary Map Index, the Historical Map Archive, Interactive Maps, and the Aerial Photography Index.
Digital Map Collection (University of Wisconsin)
The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection contains over 19,000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.
Digital Map Collections (University of Chicago)
The Map Collection has many topographic, urban, and thematic maps. We collect from all geographies and time periods. Some maps in the Collection are available in our Digital Collections.
Digital Map Collections (Yale University)
The vast majority of Beinecke Library’s digital collections are open to the public (some material must be restricted to the Yale network). Material may be covered by U.S. or international copy, publicity or privacy rights. For more information about image reuse, see about permissions and copyright.
Aerial Photography: Florida (University of Florida)
The largest and most complete collection of Florida aerial photographs outside of the National Archives. UF Digital Collections (UFDC), including the Aerial Photography: Florida collection, are undergoing significant renovations from 2021 to 2023. The new beta sites launched on November 29, 2021, with substantial work continuing through 2023. Old links to collections or pages may not work, though links to item PURLs will continue to work through the transition. Please send feedback and questions about the aerial photography interface to mapsref@uflib.ufl.edu. Feedback will be used to inform ongoing improvements.
Harvard Map Collection's Scanned Maps
Maps of various places and topics including American Civil War, Colonial North America, Cities, New England, France, and Japan.
The Map & Imagery Collections: World Map Collections at University of Florida
The Map & Imagery Collections includes materials from the University of Florida's Map & Imagery Library. Additional content is provided through the contributions of partner institutions including the University of North Florida, the University of the Virgin Islands, and the St. Augustine Campus Library' West Indiana and Special Collections Division at the University of the West Indies. Collections are heavily weighted toward historic or antique maps, but selected modern maps are also included, as with US Army Maps.
Maryland Map Collection - Digital Collection (University of Maryland)
The Maryland Map Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 2,500 maps depicting Maryland, the Chesapeake Bay, and the surrounding region from 1590 to the present. The collection contains many rare early maps of Maryland and more modern maps produced by state and local governments. Some selected maps have been digitized and are available on this site. The rest of the map collection can be viewed in the Maryland Room. For more information about this collection, visit the Guide to Maryland Maps.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Historical maps of the United States from the University of Texas at Austin.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Florida (University of Florida)
The 'Sanborn® Fire Insurance Company Maps of Florida' comprises more than 300 bibliographic units in more than 3,000 map sheets. The maps were mainly designed to help fire insurance agents determine the degree of damage to a property and show accurate information to help them determine risks and establish premiums. They showed the size (including color-coding), shape, and construction of buildings (brick, adobe, frame, etc), dwellings (including hotels and churches), and other structures such as bridges, docks, and barns. Along with fire stations, you could also find water facilities, sprinklers, hydrants, cisterns, alarm boxes, firewalls, windows, doors, elevators and chimneys, and roof types. The maps included street names, property boundaries, lot lines, and house and block numbers. Information such as the latest census figures, prevailing winds, railroad lines, Indian reservations, and topography were included. Today, the maps are an invaluable guide to inner-city history, land use, and historic preservation.
