Map Collection at S.E. Wimberly Library and Beyond

What are Topographic Maps?
 "Topographic maps show the three-dimensional shape of the landscape by representing equal elevation with lines on a two-dimensional map; they are, in essence, a type of contour map." 

Who uses topographic maps?
Hikers or outdoor enthusiasts, geoscientists, and geoscience students often use topographic maps.

How do we use topographic maps?
"Topographic maps are used to understand the shape of the land, whether a slope will fail, how glaciers are changing, and geologic history, among many other things. Geoscientists make and use them to construct geologic maps, find the best building sites, estimate where flooding will occur, and determine the best site for archeological or paleontological digs."

What does the scale of the map do?
Scale is the relation of the size of the map to the actual size of the area. For example, it helps people understand how far they must hike to get to a particular place or the distance between two points on a road.

Source: Science Education Resource Center

Most physical maps in the Government Information and Maps Collection are topographic maps. Unlike the other kinds of physical maps in the collection, which can be located by searching in: 

Use for maps and location details in the library's map collection

The topographic maps have not been inputted into that database. There are paper indexes located on top of the map cases for which to search to see if a particular topo map is in the cases. 

National Geographic Society Maps
Includes U.S. and international, along with maps of world cultures and the environment.

Celestial Maps
Sky maps study objects like stars, constellations, galaxies, planets, or the Earth's moon.

Use for maps and location details in the library's map collection.

Use maps to discover cultures and geographic information in different countries and regions. 

International Travel Maps
Includes most countries of the world, regions, cities of selected countries, and world regions.

International and World Maps
It includes individual countries, world regions, and global maps, which are all mainly historical, with some topographic maps of areas in selected countries.

Executive Office of the President (PREX) International Maps
Includes countries and world regions and features detailed maps of areas involved in current events, such as Iraq and Afghanistan.

Use for maps and location details in the library's map collection.

U.S. Documents Maps
Includes thematic maps featuring topics like population, environment, and natural resources.

U.S. Department of the Interior Maps
Various series of folded maps were published by the National Park Service (SuDoc # I29), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (#I49), and Bureau of Land Management (#I53) and located on First Floor West in the Gov. Docs circulating collection. Check the library catalog for holdings.

Census 2000 Tract Outline Maps and Block Group Maps
Includes census maps for Palm Beach, Broward, and Miami-Dade Counties. Located in LY 109, Gov. Docs Office.

Use for maps and location details in the library's map collection.

U.S. Civil War History Maps
​Includes a series of maps detailing the Battle of Gettysburg and the First Manassas (Bull Run) Battle.

Historical Florida City and County Maps
Includes State of Florida city and county maps.

Florida Historical Maps
Includes Florida tourist road maps, street maps, and maps for various recreational activities.

Use for maps and location details.