LibGuides: Data Management: B: Collecting Data: Datasets, Tools and Sources

Data sources are special repositories that operate in only one direction for customers: withdrawal of stored datasets. The repository owner (e.g., Data.gov, Sage Data, National Institute of Health) selects and curates specific datasets that are made available for withdrawals. These datasets may be generated by the organization that owns the repository, or they may be collected from various repositories and made available to researchers.

Datasets are collections of data points. The data in a dataset may be processed (e.g. de-identified or assigned metadata), organized into subgroups (e.g., a table or labeled groups), or raw data. The size of datasets varies, with some being very small and some containing billions of data points.

Data Collection Tools

Data Collection

Formstack
Wufoo
JotForm
Redcap
Zoho Forms
Airtable
Open Data Kit (ODK)

Surveys

Literature Searchs

Literature Review
Covidence
Covidence is a software package provided through the library that offers assistance and structure for conducting various types of literature reviews. The package is especially helpful for intensive reviews, such as Systematic and Scoping Reviews and Meta-Analysis.

Data Sources: Demographics, Social Science, Education and Health Science

The following data sources are available through the FAU Libraries, while some are Open Access (without a subscription or an FAUNet ID to view).

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical datasets across 16 areas, including Business, Education, Health, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Government and Politics, and more. Results can be compared and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Library Edition
A comprehensive tool that provides highly sought after demographic data including income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures, and more.

Data.gov
Some datasets and dataset topics may not be available.

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

US Department of Education - Data and Statistics
Not available at this time

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Downloading and viewing of data files may require proprietary software.
An archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences administered by the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
SREB Factbook on Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Open Access
One of the nation's most comprehensive collections of data on higher education.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data from around the world. It covers a wide range of socio-economic topics and provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. This resource provides access to data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade .

UNdata
UN data sets for its various agencies including UNcomtrade, SDGindicators, and more.
Google Dataset Search

MedDRA (Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities) This link opens in a new window
The Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities is a medical terminology used to classify adverse event information associated with the use of biopharmaceuticals and other medical products (e.g., medical devices and vaccines). Coding these data to a standard set of MedDRA terms allows health authorities and the biopharmaceutical industry to more readily exchange and analyze data related to the safe use of medical products. MedDRA is developed by the International Conference on Harmonisation (ICH) of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH).

Data Sources: Business and Finance

The following data sources are available through the FAU Libraries, while some are Open Access (without a subscription or an FAUNet ID to view).

Africa Development Indicators (ADI) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
ADI is the most detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries and spanning the period 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.

Data.gov
Some datasets and dataset topics may not be available.

Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&Bs database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
Global Economic Monitor (GEM) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
GEM provides a daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. These databases are used by teams to prepare Country Assistance Strategies, poverty assessments, research studies, and other forms of economic and sector work. Included are World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor.
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies (data from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases). Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2013, for most reporting countries, and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2022.
World Development Indicators (WDI) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
WDI is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. WDI includes more than 900 indicators in over 80 tables organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.

Last updated on Mar 25, 2025 9:49 AM