Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, news articles, videos, and more for your research. Databases pull their information from a variety of Journals and other sources and compile it so that it is more easily found by the researcher. It is important to note that not any one database contains all the information a researcher needs, so be sure to check across several databases when searching for information.
An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.
A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.
Below is a list of social science databases. These databases, while not specific to biological anthropology, may be of some use to those searching for information because anthropology-even biological anthropology-is a multidisciplinary field of study. This means that it pulls inspiration and information from other fields such as history, social work, education, and psychology.
Below is a list of databases that may be of use to researchers in biological anthropology. Take note that there are some databases listed specific to anthropology and primatology but others that may lean more towards the biological sciences. Where you begin your search is entirely dependent on your research topic since biological anthropology is a broad discipline with many areas of focus.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911
