LibGuides: Biological Anthropology: Books and other Resources

Shelf surfing is a good way to find books that are not easily found in the catalog. Knowing where to look for books on your topic is key to finding the books on the shelf. Below are call numbers sorted by subject. Books on physical anthropology, human variation, and human evolution are often listed under the following call number:

Physical anthropology
Call Number: GN49-298

Human variation
Call Number: GN62.8-265

Human evolution
Call Number: GN281-289

SUBJECT HEADINGS

You can also search the library catalog by using subject headings. Subject headings can be a word, group of words, or phrase used to describe what the book is about. The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Biological Anthropology that can be used when searching for books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.

Baboons -- Africa
Biological Evolution
Excavations (Archaeology)
Fossil Hominids
Hominidae
Human Beings -- origin
Human Evolution
Human Population Genetics -- Asia
Paleontology -- methods
Physical Anthropology
Prehistoric Peoples -- Europe
Primates -- evolution
Primates -- geographical distribution
Vertebrates, Fossil

Print Books

Below is a list of print reference books that are a good starting point for researchers into the field of biological anthropology. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list of materials available through the library.

Electronic Books

For additional electronic books, see the library catalog at www.fau.edu/library, as well as the following databases under the link indexes/databases: ebooks on EBSCOhost, Sage Reference, and SpringerLINK.

Conversations in Human Evolution: Volume 2 by Lucy Timbrell (Editor)
ISBN: 1789699487
This second volume reports another twenty interviews with scholars at the forefront of human evolution research, covering the broad scientific themes of Palaeolithic archaeology, palaeoanthropology and biological anthropology, earth science and palaeoclimatic change, evolutionary anthropology and primatology, and human disease co-evolution.
Human Origins 101 by Holly M. Dunsworth
ISBN: 1281111341
This accessible volume provides readers - whether students new to the field or just interested members of the lay public - with the essential ideas of the origins of humans using a minimum of jargon and mathematics. Concepts are introduced in a progressive order so that more complicated ideas build on simpler ones, and each is discussed in small, bite-sized segments so that they can be more easily understood. "Human Origins 101" enables students and the general public to understand the basic concepts underlying our knowledge of our evolution as a species. This small volume covers: ; A brief history of paleoanthropology, and the discovery of human's place in nature ; Evolution and the Origin of Life ; Clues to human origins from genetics ; The fossil and archaeological records ; The distinctive traits that makes us human ; The diversity of modern humans With a bibliography, glossary, and discussion of hoaxes, fringe theories, and hot-button issues, "Human Origins 101" provides the perfect starting point for anyone wishing to understand how scientists know how humans evolved.
Spinal Evolution by Ella Been (Editor); Asier Gómez Olivencia (Editor); Patricia Kramer (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030193485
The vertebral spine is a key element of the human anatomy. Its main role is to protect the spinal cord and the main blood vessels. The axial skeleton, with its muscles and joints, provides stability for the attachment of the head, tail and limbs and, at the same time, enables the mobility required for breathing and for locomotion.