LibGuides: Archaeology: Journals

Understanding Journal Availability in Databases

When you're searching for academic articles in online databases, it's important to pay attention to the dates that journals are available. This is especially true if you're looking for recent articles.

What is a Moving Wall or Embargo?

A "moving wall" or "embargo" is a delay between when an article is published and when it becomes available in a database.
This delay can range from 0 to 10 years, depending on the journal and database.
It's called a "moving wall" because the available dates shift as time passes.

Why This Matters

Different databases might have different date ranges for the same journal.
This means you might need to check multiple databases to find a specific article, especially if it's recent.

Example: American Anthropologist Journal

To understand this better, let's look at how one journal is available in two different databases:

In Wiley Online:
- Available from 1998 volume:100 issue: 1

* when there is no end date under a journal’s database it means that the journal is from the date listed to present.

In ProQuest One Literature:
- Available from March 1, 1988 Volume: 30 Issue: 1 until 12/ 31/ 2009 Volume: 111 Issue: 4

This example shows how the same journal can have different availability depending on the database you're using.

Journal Title Searching

Archaeology Journals

Below is a small list of the journals related to archaeology that the University Libraries has subscriptions to. For a complete list please click here.

American Anthropologist
American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association. The journal advances the Association's mission through publishing articles that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound recordings, and exhibits.
American Antiquity
Considered the premier archaeology journal, it has been published since 1935. The primary focus of the journal is on North American archaeology. Historically, however, it used to publish articles on Central and South American archaeology too.
Florida Anthropologist
***Please note that the Florida Anthropologist is not housed at FAU. This link will take you to UF's digital collections webpage.***
The Florida Anthropologist is the quarterly journal of the Florida Anthropological Society, and was first published in May 1948. The journal publishes on a wide variety of anthropological topics relative to Florida. One of its principle publishing interests is Pre-Columbian societies. But, articles also document colonial establishments and colonization of Florida, early modern Florida, etc.
Journal of Field Archaeology
Originally conceived in the 1970s as a venue for publishing field reports, this journal has evolved into a general archaeology journal with world-wide coverage, although it still emphasizes field work.
Latin American antiquity
The journal was founded in 1990 by the Society for American Archaeology to focus on the archaeology and prehistory of Latin America. Some articles are in Spanish. Since it began publication, American Antiquity has largely ceased publication of articles on Latin America.
North American Archaeologist
North American Archaeologist surveys all aspects of prehistoric and historic archaeology within an evolutionary perspective, from Paleo-Indian studies to industrial sties. It accents the results of Resource Management and Contract Archaeology, the newest growth areas in archaeology, often neglected in other publication

Types of Journal Articles

Non-peer-reviewed journals. Beware!

Archaeology. Archaeology is a glossy, popular magazine that has been published by the Archaeological Institute of America since 1948. Although it is published by a venerable professional society, it is NOT peer-reviewed; the articles are mostly written by journalists rather than by the investigators themselves.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Nov 14, 2024 9:53 AM