LibGuides: Archaeology: Articles

Databases are great starting points for finding information for your research paper. In databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Below is a list of social science databases. These are general databases that reach across several disciplines.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

JSTOR Journal Storage (More than 500 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science [including the General Science Collection and Ecology and Botany Collection], and social science disciplines)

Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Provides access to scholarly journals in the Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, and Materials Science and Engineering.

What are the differences between Databases and Journals?

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

Using Databases to Search

Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Access is limited to ten (10) simultaneous users. Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Provides access AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, newsletters and bulletins.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Recommended Resource. Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com) Google Scholar does a great job of popping up articles on whatever topic you list. Sometimes it links to a full text copy of the article, which may be available through FAU’s paid electronic journal subscriptions. Sometimes it just provides the citation, which you can look up in our library databases. Never forget that sometimes FAU has paper copies of journals on the shelf that are not available electronically. To find these, search for the journal name in the library catalog (not the list of electronic journals). Then go to the library building and read the paper copy, or make a photocopy (or scan) of the relevant pages.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window This resource is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Subjects include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Dance, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, History, International Relations, Journalism, Law, Linguistics, Literary & more.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content. Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Funded by statewide allocation.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Recommended Resource. JSTOR is a full text database that includes the back issues of articles from thousands of prominent journals. It covers archaeology quite well. The University pays for a subscription to the database, so to get the articles you have to sign in through EZProxy if you are not using a University computer. You can search JSTOR effectively through its website, but Google also does a good job of drilling down into it. Note that JSTOR rarely has the most recent issues of journals because it is designed as an electronic repository for journal back issues. Therefore, if you are looking for the most recent research on a topic, don’t rely on JSTOR.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Funded by statewide allocation.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window An archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Combines Medline, the premier database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences with PreMedline, the database that provides basic citation information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social s

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Nov 14, 2024 9:53 AM