LibGuides: Anthropology: Articles

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. Below is a list of databases related to anthropology, please note that this is not a comprehensive list but rather a starting point.

All the World's Primates Limited to 30 users. On-campus use only. Requires use of Microsoft Internext Explorer browser, installation of Microsoft Silverlight, and pop-up blocker must be turned off.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Access is limited to ten (10) simultaneous users. Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window Provides access AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, newsletters and bulletins.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Scholarly journals and ebooks in engineering, science, technology, health, and social science disciplines.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and feature the work of many of the influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. Funded by statewide allocation.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Social Science Databases

Social Science databases are also good general sources to look at when searching for articles. While they may not contain as many subject specific articles, they may contain articles that do pertain to anthropology that may not appear in the other databases. However, the real importance of general social science databases are that they contain articles on topics or subjects that overlap with the field of anthropology. Remember anthropology is a highly interdisciplinary field of study, so the use of generalized databases is also very important when conducting research.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Student Tech Fee Funded (Archives Only) Provides access to scholarly journals in the Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, and Materials Science and Engineering.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window The database features more than 1,660,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and full text for 6,800 conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Last updated on Apr 18, 2024 8:49 AM