Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

LAH 4131: Indians in Latin American History

Getting Started

Getting Started

Access Services

Get help from Access Services Department at their Service Desk, located to the right of the stairs in Wimberly Library. The staff there do much more then just check out books. They are the ones who  

  • answer your questions or refer you to a librarian for additional help,
  • can activate your Owl Card (important when attempting to log in through Off Campus Connect/EZproxy),
  • handle all materials that your professors have put on reserves,
  • work with Textbook Reserves, and
  • are in charge of the study rooms and their availability.

Access Services Department is open all times that Wimberly Library is open. 

Research and Instructional Services Department

Exterior of FAU Wimberly Library looking westResearch and Instructional Services Department staff provide assistance to the FAU community in using both the electronic and print collection resources. 

See our DIY LibGuide and Video Tutorials when you have questions on how to use the library, do research, and find information. 

Media Center

To check out DVDs, videos, CDs, audiotapes, and more, visit the Media Center in room 122.

*  iPads available for loan!

*  Laptop computers (PCs and Mac) are available for in-library use only.

*  Scientific Calculators can be checked out and taken to your science or math class.

*  If the Media Center is closed, please visit the Service Desk for assistance.

Government Information and Maps Department

The physical materials in the Government Documents Collection are located in the West Wing on the First Floor of the S.E. Wimberly Library. The library catalog can be searched to identify these resources and access the many electronic formatted government documents. 

If you need help with Government Information and resources, please stop by the Research and Instructional Service Department Office Suite LY 157 on the East Side of the Library. There you will find the Government Documents Coordinator in office LY 149; if he is not there, one of his fellow librarians in the Department will gladly assist you in your research needs. 

HOURS: Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM -- Additional hours by appointment.

Research and Instructional Services Department PHONE: 561-297-3785

Government Documents Coordinator PHONE: 561-297-4536

Special Collections @FAU

 

The Special Collections & Archives Department welcomes the use of its collections. Researchers are asked to write, call, or e-mail to utilize the collections before they visit. Hours are from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday, or by appointment. Please visit and use our new online Finding Aids Repository!

Digital Library @FAU

The Digital Library (DL) creates digital collections that promote education, scholarship, and lifelong learning. We seek projects of local, national, and global importance that expand access to unique historical and cultural materials.  To access the collections, click here.

Interlibrary Loan

InterLibrary Loan - Benbrook Public Library If there is a resource that FAU Libraries do not own or is checked out, you can request it through the Interlibrary Loan Department.

Last updated on Feb 28, 2024 12:39 PM - Guide Creator(s)