LibGuides: Healthcare for All: Race: Databases, Journals, & Articles

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
An indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
A ProQuest website featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Focuses on historic and contemporary experiences and perspectives of African Americans, including the Black Lives Matter movement.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora This link opens in a new window
Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora is a comprehensive collection of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora, offering short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon. It features over 11,707 short stories and more than 82,061 pages.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. This resource includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Black Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Black Studies in Video brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience, covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the published works of numerous historically important black leaders and features unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. Subjects include segregation, poverty, education, religion, civil rights, and more.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
California Newsreel This link opens in a new window
Contains films produced by California Newsreel, a non-profit company focusing on racial justice. Topics include African American life, history, and culture. Contains both documentary and feature films.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to one (1) user
Content includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The Chicano Database gives researchers targeted access to the materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender of the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience.
DemographicsNow (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
Library Edition
A comprehensive tool that provides highly sought after demographic data including income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures, and more.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full-text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream
Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection This link opens in a new window
The films in this collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Student Tech Fee Funded
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. Register for My Archive and save your favorite documents, search results, and images to your personal collection area.
Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War (History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This module provides important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade, with documents showing international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States. Also, this module includes a series of letters received by the Attorney General on law and order in nineteenth century America. These letters cover the slave trade, general slavery matters including runaway slaves and rights of slaves, and other legal issues.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family This link opens in a new window
Brings together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.

Directions: Research & Policy on Eliminating Racism
The Canadian Race Relations Foundation is Canada's leading agency
dedicated to the elimination of racism and all forms of racial discrimination in Canadian society.
Ethnicity & disease
Ethnicity & Disease is an international journal that exclusively publishes information on the causal and associative relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease. Topics focus on: ethnic differentials in disease rates;impact of migration on health status; social and ethnic factors related to health care access and health; and metabolic epidemiology. A major priority of the journal is to provide a forum for exchange between the United States and the developing countries of Europe, Africa, Asia, and Latin America.
Ethnicity and Inequalities in Health and Social Care
Promotes race equality in health and social care; includes information on identifying and preventing inequalities, and access to services.
International journal of Discrimination & the Law
Covers a wide range of areas of discrimination, including racism & sex discrimination, religious discrimination, the treatment of asylum seekers & refugees, issues of immigration & nationality, discrimination on physical disability, fair housing.
Race & Class: A journal on Racism, Empire and Globalisation
Articles and book reviews for readers interested in the sociological issues of race and the third world.
Race and Society
Concerns the study of the social & structural aspects of race & racism.
Race Equality Teaching
The only practitioners' journal devoted to race equality in education. For 31 years ithas led international debate & reported good practice in education & equality, responding to the political shifts thataffect children's educational opportunities.
Race Ethnicity and Education
Explores the dynamics of race, racism & ethnicity in education policy, theory & practice.

Race and Medicine [NEJM]
The Race and Medicine collection reflects NEJM’s commitment to understanding and combating racism as a public health and human rights crisis. Our commitment to antiracism includes efforts to educate the medical community about systemic racism, to support physicians and aspiring physicians who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color, and ultimately to improve the care and lives of patients who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color.

Beyond Tuskegee — Vaccine Distrust and Everyday Racism [NEJM Points of View]
With two authorized SARS-CoV-2 vaccines now available, particular concerns have emerged regarding whether Black communities will choose to be vaccinated. ... In describing the racial gap on this question, many commentators cite three historical atrocities — Sims, Lacks, Tuskegee — to explain Black communities’ distrust in health care systems.2 If it were only that simple.
The Emotional Toll of Racism [Inside Higher Ed]
Black students continuously experience, fight against and bear emotional scars from racism, which can lead to increased anxiety and poor mental health outcomes. Some colleges are just starting to address these issues.
Health Disparities by Race and Ethnicity [Center for American Progress]
The United States is home to stark and persistent racial disparities in health coverage, chronic health conditions, mental health, and mortality. These disparities are not a result of individual or group behavior but decades of systematic inequality in American economic, housing, and health care systems. This fact sheet sheds light on some of the most persistent inequities facing African Americans or Black Americans, Hispanic Americans or Latinx Americans, Asian Americans, Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander Americans, and American Indians or Alaska Natives.
How we fail black patients in pain [AAMC]
Half of white medical trainees believe such myths as black people have thicker skin or less sensitive nerve endings than white people. An expert looks at how false notions and hidden biases fuel inadequate treatment of minorities’ pain.
Why Black Mental Health Literacy Matters [Huffpost]
Yolo Akili Robinson joint presented the NNLM hosted " Black Mental Health & Healing Justice: Peer Support training session". In this article, Yolo discusses Black mental health and the creation of BEAM (The Black Emotional and Mental Health Collective).

Last updated on Aug 12, 2024 1:13 PM