News & Viewpoints

Databases for Articles, Current Events, and Opposing Viewpoints

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science, and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Funded by statewide allocation.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window This database covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. It includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. This is a good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue, to complete writing assignments, prepare for a debate, or create a presentation.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window An all-inclusive list of databases availble to FAU from this vendor.
SIRS Knowledge Source This link opens in a new window A reference source which includes access to SIRS Issues Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and SIRS WebSelect.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window This database contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue, aiding students in developing persuasive arguments and essays. Covering many subjects, each topic includes an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Debatabase
more...less...
The International Debate Education Association (IDEA) develops, organizes and promotes debate and debate-related activities in communities throughout the world, and is creator of Debatabase.
News and Weather LibGuide Find radio, TV, print and online news and weather resources for your local, state, national and world news.

Last updated on Sep 24, 2024 11:54 AM - Guide Creator(s)