Articles & Images

Databases

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. To access these databases, start with the FAU Libraries homepage and click on the Databases tab. You may then find a given database alphabetically, or by subject (Art & Architecture).

Below you will find a video tutorial on how to perform database searching and a list of databases that you may find useful to your research. Please not that this is not an exhaustive list of resources but rather a starting point for your search into databases.

Database Searching Video Tutuorial

Electronic Databases

Archivision Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Archivision Digital Library is a core architecture collection of 28,000 images covering important Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th and 19th Century, Islamic and Modern sites, gardens, parks and works of public art.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

Funded by statewide allocation.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Open Access
NYPL Digital Gallery is the New York Public Library's image database, developed to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to three (3) simultaneous users.
This resource includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly journals and books in humanities, mathematics and social science disciplines.

Please note: Project Muse requires more than one instance of authentication to access content. For assistance, please contact openathens@fau.edu
Social Theory This link opens in a new window
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. This final release features more than 150,000 pages of content by such major theorists as Theodor Adorno, Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, mile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Jrgen Habermas, Robert Merton, Dorothy E. Smith , and Talcott Parsons.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery provides broad searching of WorldCat and other databases; these databases include ArticleFirst, ERIC, GPO Monthly Catalog, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, and ProceedingsFirst. WorldCat Discovery meets the needs of more general searchers. For more precision searching of WorldCat and other databases please see FirstSearch.

Getty Databases

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) are available free of charge on the Getty Web site, covering European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. More information about BHA and RILA is available at Getty's website.

Images

See the Images LibGuide for more information and links to images, as well as information about citations, copyrights, etc.

Last updated on Jan 6, 2025 1:10 PM - Guide Creator(s)