Skip to main content

Government Documents at FAU Libraries: Finding Congressional Hearings

A guide for finding and using government resources

About Congressional Hearings

"A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal Law. In addition, hearings may be purely exploratory in nature, providing testimony and data about topics of current interest. Most congressional hearings are published two months to two years after they are held."

Source: U.S. Government Publishing Office

Congress In Action

Congress 3

Congress

congress 2

House of Representitives

Senate

Search Tips- Basic Search

Congressional Hearings 1824-2015 can be searched by numbers:

1. Legislation Citation:

  • Bill Number (e.g. 104 H.Res 464)                                          
  • Public Law Number (e.g. 107 PL 15)
  • Statute at Large (e.g. 98 Stat 1331)                                    
  • Public Resolution (e.g. 4)
  • Vote Report (Roll Call Number, e.g. Roll Vote No. 87)    
  • US Code Citation (e.g. 7 USC § 1621)

2. Bibliographic Citations:

  • Publication Number (e.g. H.Rpt.108 34)
  • SuDoc Number (e.g. Y4.Ag8/1:1020-9)
  • Accession Number (e.g. 97-S961-19)
  • Serial Set Volumes (e.g. 1200 or 12688-2)

3. Congressional Record Citations:

  • Congressional Record Page Citation with Volume (e.g. Vol (1 III) Page Range (134,12-38, not XIVa)
  • Daily Edition to Bound Edition Cross Reference (e.g. 141 (1995) H-House 14873)
  • Date 
  • Congressional Bound Index Volumes by Congress

Search Tips- Advanced Search

ProQuest Advanced

Congressional Hearings 1824-2015 can be searched by one of the fields in the drop-down box:

1. Subject;

2. Titles;

3. Congressional Sources;

4. Witness Name allows searching by first and last name of the witness; 

5. Witness Affiliation search by company name, educational institution or association;

6. All fields Except Full Text is the default setting in the search field box that provides the most precise search;

7. All fields including full Text is used when more hits are required. Some witness may not be listed as a witness by name because they were not the witness officially invited to the hearing, they do not have a standard name or they are a fictional character.

8. Restricted Date or Specific Congress provides a more precise search.

 

Source: ProQuest LibGuides

Finding Congressional Hearings- ProQuest

Capitol

U.S. Congressional Hearings from 1824-2015 are now available in digital format at FAU libraries. The Boca Campus will no longer house the print editions.

You can access these full text resources through ProQuest Congressional Hearings database (remember to sign in with Off Campus Connect/EZproxy if you are not on campus).

To find out which Congressional District you live in, go to House.gov. For a profile of your district, visit the useful Census Bureau web page My Congressional District.

Finding Congressional Hearings- FDsys

GPO

FDsys

Full-text Congressional Hearings after 2003 can also be found at Government Publishing Office (GPO)'s FDsys database. A wealth of Congressional information is now available both in the Congress.gov and the new resource govinfo.

Primary Sources

Hearings

Looking for primary sources?

Congressional Hearings provide primary source materials for researches on a wide variety of topics, including political movements, foreign affairs, and important historical events.