Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Indexes and Databases are collections of academic journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1985.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. This database is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, and contains more than 32,000 entries.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources combines Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online (modules 1-4), The Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously. These primary source collections include digitized monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a large and growing resource of essential medieval and early modern sources online.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Archives 1-4) This link opens in a new window To search Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online simultaneously, please see Gale Primary Sources.
An international primary source collection of 19th century materials, such as monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps. Archives include: British Politics and Society; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and CORVEY Collection of European Literature (1790-1840).
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
An all-inclusive list of databases availble to FAU from this vendor.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search with the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive on Gale NewsVault.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full-facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals will be useful both for the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The videos cover Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.