LibGuides: Study Skills: Study Skills and Tips

Videos

There are many study skill videos available. See the embedded one below and others listed in the box below.

Video Databases that include Study Skills

Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary source collections and streaming media. Subject matter spans across the curriculum —in literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; theatre; and other areas.
See separate collection titles and the video platform - Alexander Street Press Video - within our A-Z Database List.

Search by keyword or topic, like:

study skills reading skills memory learning strategies exams notetaking work space listening

test taking essays college success writing literacy skills

Student Success Series
These short videos (each less than 20 minutes) offer practical, research-based advice to students to help them develop essential skills.

Crash Course Study Skills set

Offers basic study skill videos
Has videos on many topics to introduce you to concepts and topics.
Many videos are put into "sets" for fields of study, like business, chemistry, literature, etc.
You will be asked to authenticate yourself with your FAUNet ID and password (same as you use to log into Canvas) to access these videos.
- To filter results, click on the Funnel at the top middle of the page. Filter by subject, publisher, content type, and other limiters, including release date and video duration.
- Create an account for free (top right of the screen, click on the person icon). Save videos, share with others, etc.
- Want to bookmark a video? Click on the video title, then on Share to grab the Permalink to the video. Save to this video site or bookmark on your computer.
- Database: Academic Video Online

O'Reilly for Higher Education includes so many resources!

Create an account (click on person icon at top right) to save books, courses, videos, etc. to your account.
Search for specific Topics in Search Box
Search by format (books, courses, videos, audiobooks, playlists)
Filter by Topic, publisher, rating, publication date, etc.

Don't know what to search for? Look for these Topics!
(Click on Topics at top left of page. Click on "View all topics" to see the short list of all topics. In the Topics search box, type one of the following:)

Soft Skills
Critical Thinking
Life-Work Balance
Career Development
Personal Devices
Mobile Devices / Computers
Organizational Leadership
Professional Communication
Human Resources
Project Management
Personal Finance
Professional Development
Travel & Hobbies
and more!

PBS Crash Course

Offers study skill videos
Offers basic "crash courses" to help you understand foundational concepts and background in a wide variety of topics
You will be asked to authenticate yourself with your FAUNet ID and password (same as you use to log into Canvas) to access these videos.
- To filter results, click on the Funnel at the top middle of the page. Filter by subject, publisher, content type, and other limiters, including release date and video duration.
- Create an account for free (top right of the screen, click on the person icon). Save videos, share with others, etc.
- Want to bookmark a video? Click on the video title, then on Share to grab the Permalink to the video. Save to this video site or bookmark on your computer.
- Database: Academic Video Online

PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities This link opens in a new window
Student Tech Fee Funded for 3 years of access (July 1, 2022-June 30, 2025).

PrepSTEP contains practice tests, tutorials, e-books, articles, and flashcards on subjects such as computer skills, career preparation, and college success. Also featured are test preparation materials for the GRE, CLEP, TEOFL, LSAT, MCAT, among others.

Sage Business Skills This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Skills helps students develop and practice real-world skills to
transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Supporting a range of courses, a self-guided journey to gain career-ready skill sets for professional success.

Search by keywords or topics, like:
note taking organization writing collaboration reports reading assignment strategies studying time management
motivation learning skills professionalism handbooks data entrepreneur organizations

Sage Skills Student Success This link opens in a new window
SAGE Skills Student Success helps students develop and practice academic and personal skills for transition to campus life and enable lifelong learning. This resource includes over 1000 skill topics across ten modules, through self assessments, interactive scenarios, downloadable exercises, original videos, and more.

Search by keywords or topics, like:
note taking organization writing collaboration reports reading assignment strategies studying time management
motivation learning critical thinking literacy skills videos handbooks

Ebooks

Last updated on Sep 23, 2024 9:19 AM