LibGuides: Rhetoric: Articles, Journals & Databases

Databases

Library databases are electronic catalogs or indices, contain information about published items, and are searchable.

Some items indexed in library databases include journals, magazines, books, newspapers, book reviews, publications, and dissertations.

Many library databases provide at least some full text articles, but some may only provide abstracts (summaries) or citations. A citation typically consists of author, title, source (title of publication), publisher, and date of publication.

Library databases differ in what they cover. Some library databases index items from many subject areas and others index items from a specific academic discipline. View all the FAU databases by subject here : Databases by Subject

Below is a selected list of databases that you will find useful in searching for information on Rhetoric:

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window Includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspaper articles regarding arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology disciplines.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window This resource is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content. Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Funded by statewide allocation.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information. Funded by statewide allocation.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window This database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included. Funded by statewide allocation.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window Contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. Funded by statewide allocation.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly journals and books in humanities, mathematics and social science disciplines. Please note: Project Muse requires more than one instance of authentication to access content. For assistance, please contact openathens@fau.edu
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window Student Tech Fee Funded (Archives Only) Provides access to scholarly journals in the Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, and Materials Science and Engineering.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Need help? Click here.

Popular Publications vs. Scholoarly Papers

List of Electronic Journals

Google Scholar

Last updated on Sep 23, 2024 9:20 AM