LibGuides: Political Science: Websites

Government Information and Maps Department Page The Federal Government Information Collection is located on the First Floor West of the S.E. Wimberly Library on the Boca Raton campus. It houses the Libraries' depository print collections for federal government documents. It uses the SuDoc Classification System. The Map Collection is located on the First Floor East of Wimberly Library. Government Information Electronic Collections can be found in the FAU Libraries catalog. The depository receives about 70% of government publications distributed through the FDLP. For additional resources, visit the Catalog of Government Publication (CGP) for a comprehensive catalog of print and online resources.
American Political Science Association Founded in 1903, the American Political Science Association (APSA) is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 11,000 members in more than 100 countries. With a range of programs and services for individuals, departments, and institutions, APSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry, regions, and occupational endeavors within and outside academe to deepen our understanding of politics, democracy, and citizenship throughout the world. The Association promotes a lively, diverse community of scholars, teachers, students, and practitioners who bring wide-ranging interests, methodologies, and perspectives to the analysis and conduct of government and politics. The Association disseminates information, facilitates collaboration among its members, publicizes research findings on important theoretical and political issues, and publishes a variety of materials relevant to the discipline. It enhances the capacity of political scientists to conduct research, improve teaching, develop professionally, and communicate their ideas within the discipline and to the wider public. The Association is also committed to transparency, open enquiry, scholarly pluralism, high standards of ethics and integrity, and a global perspective.
International Studies Association Who we Are The International Studies Association is one of the oldest interdisciplinary associations dedicated to understanding international, transnational and global affairs. Founded in 1959, its more than 7,000 members span the globe – comprising academics, practitioners, policy experts, private sector workers and independent researchers, among others. The Association has long served as a central hub for the exchange of ideas and for networking and programmatic initiatives among those involved in the study, teaching and practice of International Studies. Through its highly attended Annual Convention and regional/international conferences, as well as its respected journals and the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies, the Association promotes rigorous discussion, research and writing on a broad range of topics within International Studies, broadly construed. ISA also offers various funding, bridging and mentoring opportunities that facilitate the development of new ideas, relationships and skillsets. These opportunities provide a space for underrepresented groups, early career scholars and other professionals to grow in the field. As an Association dedicated to posing and answering questions regarding some of the most pressing issues of our time, ISA is composed of a variety of Sections, Caucuses and Regions that seek to facilitate their members’ analysis of, and engagement with, the world of international, transnational and global affairs writ large. ISA Governance The International Studies Association was initially founded in 1959 by a core group of scholars and practitioners dedicated to creating a member-driven organization. With the establishment of the ISA Constitution, the architects of ISA designed an organization that is governed by and answerable to its membership. The first governing body of ISA is the Governing Council, made up of the elected leaders of its sub-units (regions, sections and caucuses), as well as individuals elected by the ISA membership as a whole. This group is responsible for making decisions regarding any changes or additions to ISA's policies and procedures. The second portion of ISA governance consists of the standing committees and appointments. These committees and appointments are charged with evaluating ISA's status quo and making recommendations within their organizational area of focus. Committees and appointments are selected by the ISA president, at the discretion of the Governing Council, and report to the Governing Council.
National Association of Counties Through NACo, counties unite to advocate for county priorities in federal policymaking, promote exemplary county policies and practices, nurture leadership skills and expand knowledge networks, optimize county and taxpayer resources and cost savings, and enrich the public’s understanding of county government.
National Conference of State Legislatures The National Conference of State Legislatures, created by state legislators and legislative staff in 1975, serves America’s 50 states, commonwealths, territories and the District of Columbia. Every state legislator and staffer is a member of the organization and has complete access to the latest in bipartisan policy research, training resources and technical assistance tailored specifically to their needs. And, NCSL offers members a variety of opportunities to connect and collaborate, notably at its signature event, the NCSL Legislative Summit. Use the links below to get involved or connect with NCSL staff.
National Governors Association Founded in 1908, the National Governors Association is the voice of 55 states, territories, and commonwealth leaders. Our nation’s Governors are dedicated to leading bipartisan solutions that improve citizens’ lives through state government. Through the NGA, Governors identify priority issues and deal with public policy and governance matters at the state, national, and global levels. NGA is the premier resource for governors, their cabinet members, state policy experts, the U.S. Congress, and private enterprises. NGA offers various services to help collaboratively tell the states’ story. Thanks to decades of broad expertise, NGA teams can work side-by-side with state leaders to identify challenges, help Governors stay ahead of the curve, and offer solutions before challenges become problems.
Public Agenda Public Agenda amplifies public voice for an informed and inclusive democracy. Learn about our team, how we work, and ways to get involved.
State Government Affairs Council The State Government Affairs Council (SGAC) is the premier national association for multi-state government affairs professionals, providing opportunities for networking and professional development. SGAC's Mission Statement: SGAC's mission is to advance and support the state government affairs profession by fostering community among peers and elected officials, building knowledge, and promoting diverse perspectives in a nonpartisan environment. SGAC's Vision Statement: Be the leading trade association for state government affairs professionals, offering unparalleled educational opportunities, while providing a forum for members and policymakers to convene and collaborate through civil discourse.
The U.S. Conference of Mayors The United States Conference of Mayors is the official non-partisan organization of cities with a population of 30,000 or larger. Each city is represented by its chief elected official, the mayor.
USA Political Database The USA Political Database is a free, open-content online political database offering information about the American political institutions & processes, branches of government, elections, political documents, political parties, and other related subjects free of charge in the hopes of facilitating thought-provoking political discussion, education, and analysis from an objective and unbiased perspective.

Think tanks substantially influence individuals' lives and perspectives, often without their awareness. These organizations shape government policy, mold media content, and contribute to the language people use. By conducting research, providing analysis, and offering recommendations, think tanks influence policymakers' decisions, impacting society. Moreover, they produce reports and commentary that frame public debates and shape public opinion on various issues. Additionally, think tanks contribute to language development by coining terms and phrases that enter the public lexicon. Their multifaceted role in shaping government, media, and language significantly impacts societal discourse and individual worldviews.

Brookings Institution Political bias: Liberal -- The Brookings Institution (“Brookings”) is the premier think tank in the US, if not the world. It was founded through the merger of three Washington-based social science and public policy research organizations in 1927. One of these, the Institute for Government Research, had been founded by wholesale distribution and shipping magnate turned philanthropist Robert S. Brookings (1850–1932) in 1916. Today, Brookings is heavily involved in economic development efforts worldwide while maintaining a strong research interest in the US economy and political system. The institution’s roster of more than 300 experts is drawn from all quarters of the world. These scholars pursue their policy research, analysis, and recommendations under the auspices of one of the following research programs: economics, foreign policy, global economy and development, governance, and metropolitan policy. Retired Marine Corps, four-star General John R. Allen (b. 1953) has served as Brooking’s President since 2017.
The Heritage Foundation Political bias: Conservative -- The Heritage Foundation (“Heritage”) is the largest and most-influential American think tank with a conservative political viewpoint. It was founded in 1973 by political activist Paul Weyrich (1942–2008) and policy analyst Edwin J. Feulner, Jr. (b. 1941), with financial backing from beer dynasty scion Joseph Coors, Sr. (1917–2003). Former public servant Kay C. James (b. 1949) served as President of Heritage from 2018 through the spring of 2021, when she announced her intention to step down. Heritage’s announced mission is “building an America where freedom, opportunity, prosperity, and civil society flourish.” The foundation also states that it aims to “formulate and promote conservative public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense.”
Council on Foreign Relations Political bias: Liberal -- The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries.
Cato Institute Political bias: Libertarian -- The Cato Institute is a public policy research organization — a think tank – dedicated to the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace. Its scholars and analysts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues. Founded in 1977, Cato owes its name to Cato’s Letters, a series of essays published in 18th- century England that presented a vision of society free from excessive government power. Those essays inspired the architects of the American Revolution. And the simple, timeless principles of that revolution — individual liberty, limited government, and free markets – turn out to be even more powerful in today’s world of global markets and unprecedented access to information than Jefferson or Madison could have imagined. Social and economic freedom is not just the best policy for a free people, it is the indispensable framework for the future.
Center for Strategic and International Studies Political bias: Centrist -- CSIS has played an influential role in shaping international relations and US foreign policy during both the Cold War and the post-Soviet period. In recent years, it has begun to cast its net widely, addressing a broad range of global issues from trade to health to climate change. The thinking of the CSIS has also impacted the operations of various international governmental entities and non-governmental organizations, including the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank.
American Enterprise Institute Political bias: Neo-conservative -- AEI’s mission statement states that its scholars and staff seek to “[defend] human dignity, [expand] human potential, and [build] a freer and safer world” by advancing ideas rooted in democracy, the free enterprise system, and American strength and global leadership. AEI maintains that such a program is the best way of maintaining solidarity “with those at the periphery of our society” and of building “a pluralistic, entrepreneurial culture.”
RAND Corporation Political bias: Centrist -- RAND's mission is simple and incredibly complex: We exist to help policymakers make decisions based on the best available information. This may sound similar to the goals of other policy research institutions. But the difference is in the details. The best data, robust methods, and the brightest minds fuel RAND's results. RAND's tradition of high-quality research and analysis, begun in our early years, flourished during one of the defining challenges of the United States in the 20th century: the West's dangerous competition with the Soviet Union in a nuclear age. In a time when emotions ran high, RAND remained committed to sober, objective research and an approach to problem-solving founded on rigor and stripped of speculation.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (“CEIP”) is an American nonprofit think tank headquartered in Washington, DC. Focused on global policy matters, the CEIP accordingly has centers around the world, including in Beijing, New Delhi, and Moscow.
Atlantic Council Political bias: Centrist -- The Atlantic Council is a non-partisan, non-profit think tank established in 1961. As its name indicates, its primary orientation is Atlanticist—that is, its work is focused on the formal alliances and more informal economic, political, and military relationships between North America (primarily, the US and Canada) and Europe (the UK and the EU). The Atlantic Council is headquartered in Washington, DC.
Hoover Institution Political bias: Conservative -- With its eminent scholars and world-renowned library and archives, the Hoover Institution seeks to improve the human condition by advancing ideas that promote economic opportunity and prosperity while securing and safeguarding peace for America and all humanity.

Professional Organizations

American Political Science Association (APSA) Founded in 1903, the American Political Science Association (APSA) is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 11,000 members in more than 100 countries. With a range of programs and services for individuals, departments, and institutions, APSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry, regions, and occupational endeavors within and outside academe to deepen our understanding of politics, democracy, and citizenship throughout the world. The Association promotes a lively, diverse community of scholars, teachers, students, and practitioners who bring wide-ranging interests, methodologies, and perspectives to the analysis and conduct of government and politics. The Association disseminates information, facilitates collaboration among its members, publicizes research findings on important theoretical and political issues, and publishes a variety of materials relevant to the discipline. It enhances the capacity of political scientists to conduct research, improve teaching, develop professionally, and communicate their ideas within the discipline and to the wider public. The Association is also committed to transparency, open enquiry, scholarly pluralism, high standards of ethics and integrity, and a global perspective.
International Political Science Association (IPSA) IPSA was founded in Paris in 1949 under the aegis of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO). The special mandate of IPSA, expressed in its Constitution, is to support the development of political science in all parts of the world, building academic networks linking East and West, North and South. Its aim is to create an inclusive and global political science community in which all can participate. It seeks to promote collaboration between scholars in emerging and established democracies and to support the academic freedoms needed for the social sciences to flourish. The activities and policies of IPSA reflect its global mission. It has been highly successful in the encouragement of national and regional political science associations and today there are over 59 such associations affiliated with IPSA. IPSA has maintained its links with the United Nations and has supported the development of other international and regional political science organizations. IPSA World Congresses of Political Science are now held every second year, moving between continents. The participation of scholars from less developed countries is supported through travel grants and the Global South Solidarity Fund. IPSA’s research committees offer opportunities for political scientists working in particular sub-fields of the discipline to associate with colleagues from around the world. Organizing events between World Congresses and playing a major role in these Congresses, the research committees encourage the world-wide pooling of skills and resources by working both together and in conjunction with specialist sub-groups of national associations.
Northeastern Political Science Association (NPSA) The Northeastern Political Science Association (NPSA) is one the leading regional professional organizations in the United States for the study of politics. Every year, at its Annual Conference, NPSA brings together hundreds of political scientists from all fields of study and from all parts of the United States and the world for the purpose of enhancing and expanding their knowledge of politics.
Political Studies Association (PSA) Since 1950, the objectives of our Association have been ‘to promote the development of political studies and to encourage education and the advancement of learning in the art and science of government and in other branches of the political sciences’. From democracy to dictatorship and local councils to international organisations, Political Studies examines how power is obtained, kept, lost, mobilised, divided, used and abused. It asks who gains and who loses from these processes and why. Politics is studied in theory and in practice, often using scientific methods.
Southern Political Science Association (SPSA) The Southern Political Science Association is one of the oldest and largest political science organizations in the United States. Founded in 1929, its primary purposes are to publish a professional journal, to improve teaching, to promote interest and research in theoretical and practical political problems, to encourage communication and to develop standards of competence and respect between persons engaged in the professional study and practice of government and politics. To support the above goals, the Association sponsors an Annual Conference and owns the Journal of Politics. The SPSA holds its Annual Conference in January of each year. It is one of the largest political science conferences in the United States presenting research in all major fields and subfields of political science. The Journal of Politics, a leading general interest journal in political science, publishes theoretically innovative and methodologically diverse research in all subfields of the discipline including, but not limited to, American politics, comparative politics, formal theory, international relations, methodology, political theory, public administration and public policy. The conceptions of theory and method are both broad and encompassing, and welcomes contributions from scholars around the world.
Midwest Political Science Association (MPSA) The Midwest Political Science Association (MPSA) was founded in 1939 and is dedicated to the advancement of scholarship in all areas of political science. The purposes of the MPSA are to promote the professional study and teaching of political science, to facilitate communications between those engaged in such study, and to develop standards for and encourage research in theoretical and practical political problems. As such, MPSA is a nonpartisan association. It does not support political parties or candidates.
European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) Founded in 1970, we are the leading European academic association with a mission to advance political science. The European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) was established by a group of twelve founding European universities and as the result of a project led by eminent political scientists, Jean Blondel and Stein Rokkan, to…‘break down the barriers between the national traditions of the discipline and create a truly international community of scholars within Europe…’ With the help of a generous grant from the Ford Foundation, the ECPR quickly built a framework of membership and activities to meet this mission. Fifty years on, we are the leading scholarly society for political scientists in Europe; we have over 300 institutional members in nearly 50 countries, which amounts to a global community of tens of thousands of scholars.
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM) APPAM is dedicated to improving public policy and management by fostering excellence in research, analysis, and education. APPAM promotes its mission through the following activities: A multidisciplinary annual research conference that attracts the highest quality research on a wide variety of important current and emerging policy and management issues, and is structured to encourage substantive interaction among participants. A peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal that publishes the highest quality research on public policy and management. A dedication in all activities to respecting and enhancing racial, ethnic, gender, disciplinary, and other forms of diversity among participants in all of the Association's activities. The involvement of policymakers, practitioners, and scholars in the Association's governance and the Fall Conference. Initiatives that include and foster participation in the Association among students interested in public policy and management. This language is the result of several years of discussion within the Policy Council about APPAM's mission and is intended to guide the Association's programs in the future. It is meant to be a "living document" that will evolve over time. The Policy Council last amended this statement on April 4, 2003.

See the Website Evaluation Subject Guide for more information on this topic.