LibGuides: Photography: Articles & Databases

Databases are great for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Use a database to find full text articles. Below is a list of journals and databases related to photography and art, please note that this is not a comprehensive list but rather a starting point.

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

Selected Journals

The below is a list of selected Journals related to photography. This is not a comprehensive list of Photographic Journals, for more journals related to photograph go to the Journals tab on the Library's homepage.

Abilene Photograph Collection
This journal is located in The Portal to Texas History.
Artforum International
Available from 1993 to one year ago
Carpa Cubana and Sabino Gomez Photograph Collections
in Portal to Texas History
Cutting Horse Photograph Collection
in Portal to Texas History
Don Shugart Photography Collection
in Portal to Texas History
History of Photography
The articles covered were printed from 1997 to present.
José L. Castillo Photograph Collection
in Portal to Texas History
Zeitschrift für Kunstgeschichte
Open Access e-journal
Photography & Culture
Articles printed in this journal were printed from 2008 to present.
RIHA Journal (Journal of the International Association of Research Institutes in the History of Art)
Articles in this journal were printed from 2010 to present.
Nineteenth-century art worldwide : a journal of nineteenth-century visual culture

Electronic Databases

The below is a list of selected databases related to photography. This is not a comprehensive list of Photographic Databases, for more databases related to photograph go to the Database tab on the Library's homepage.

Archivision Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Archivision Digital Library is a core architecture collection of 28,000 images covering important Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th and 19th Century, Islamic and Modern sites, gardens, parks and works of public art.
Artstor This link opens in a new window Next week, August 1, ArtStor will be moving to the JSTOR platform. Your Personal Collections (part of your personal account) are already housed on JSTOR in Workspace, accessible from the top, right of the JSTOR page. If accessing ArtStor without an Artstor account, click on 'Home', top left, in order to leave the Registration page. To make use of all Artstor functionality, you will need to register. Use the Register hyperlink on the top right of the home page. The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. The collections cover many subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window Biography (Gale In Context) merges Gale's reference content with periodicals and multimedia. Users can search based on name, occupation, role, historical period, dates and places, and other aspects. These entries cover international figures from all time periods and areas of study.Funded by Florida Virtual Library. 
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.Funded by Florida Virtual Campus. 
JSTOR This link opens in a new window This is a collection of full text articles that includes several journals dealing with art history and design. Articles can be located by keyword searching or browsing contents of journals. Links to digital images in ARTstor can also be found.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window Provides access to the NYPL Digital Gallery, which is the New York Public Library's "new image database." The collection of digital images includes drawings, posters, photographs, prints and much more.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Access is limited to three (3) simultaneous users. This resource includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window A collection of scholarly journals and books in humanities, mathematics and social science disciplines.
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window This database replaces Literature Online (LION). ProQuest One Literature contains a large amount of primary works, including rare texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theater performances, and author readings. In addition, there are citations from thousands of journals, monographs, and dissertations. Other sources, such as book reviews and criticism, are found in interdisciplinary publications ranging from the humanities to history, thus providing diverse, global perspectives in sources from all over the world, the majority being full-text.

Video Tutorial: Library Research 101

Last updated on Feb 12, 2025 12:46 PM