Web sites
-
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
ASBMB is a constituent society of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB). Founded in 1912 by three societies, FASEB has consistently provided educational meetings and publications to disseminate biological research results. ASBMB joins FASEB to further advance biological science through collaborative advocacy for research policies that promote scientific progress and education and lead to improvements in human health.
-
Bridge
An ocean of teacher-approved marine education resources
-
Encyclopedia of Earth
Encyclopedia of Earth, a new electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
-
Encyclopedia of Life
A new project to create an online reference source and database for every one of the 1.8 million species that are named and known on this planet.
-
National Center for Biotechnology Information
This site provides free and open access to governmental biotechnical research in genetics, molecular studies, and more. Also provides information mining tools for nucleotide sequence analysis. According to the site, it "creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.
-
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Welcome to NOAA!
NOAA National Weather Service
NOAA Satellites and Information
NOAA Fisheries
NOAA Ocean Service
NOAA Research
NOAA Office of Marine & Aviation Operations
NOAA Office of Program Planning and Integration
NOAA is an agency that enriches life through science. Our reach goes from the surface of the sun to the depths of the ocean floor as we work to keep citizens informed of the changing environment around them.
-
National Science Digital Library
See this page for data, images, and articles in the Biological Sciences. The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education.
-
National Science Foundation - Directorate for Biological Sciences
The NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences provides support for research to advance understanding of the underlying principles and mechanisms governing life. Their web site links to their research, discoveries, proposed research, and awards. Their areas of research include molecular & cellular biosciences, biological infrastructure, integrated organismal systems, and emerging areas.
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Use this guide for information on careers in the Biological Sciences and related fields. Written by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this guide also includes description of careers, education requirements, career outlook, and earnings.
-
PALMM Collection
This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship. PALMM projects may involve a single university or may be collaborative efforts between a university and partners within or outside of the state university system. PALMM projects create high-quality virtual collections relevant to the students, research community and general citizenry of Florida.
-
-
USGS Publications Warehouse
The Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Last updated on Oct 15, 2025 3:58 PM
