Skip to Main Content

We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

News & Weather

This LibGuide provides links to South Florida, national, and world wide news agencies, and also to weather and hurricane information.

Severe Weather

FAU Alerts

FAU Emergency Information
Includes crisis action guides for various scenarios and important phone numbers.
FAU Emergency Status
This page provides up-to-date information on FAU's status in cases of emergencies or severe weather.
FAU Hurricane Information for Labs
FAU Hurricane Information for Offices and General Spaces

Hurricane Facts & Information

Hurricane Archive - Weather Underground
Provides information on past hurricanes in the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.
Hurricane Basics - NOAA
NOAA's page provides information on hurricane facts such as their formation, strength, and categories.
Hurricane History Interactive Site (NOAA)
NOAA has put 170 years of hurricane history on its interactive site.
The Tropical Meteorology Project - Colorado State University
This organization studies and forecasts storms; also provides updates on their outlook.

Preparedness, Evacuating & Shelters

Florida Division of Emergency Management
This website contains valuable information about how Florida residents and visitors to the state can prepare for disasters and how citizens can become more involved in the community.
Palm Beach County Emergency Management
This government page includes links to shelters, evaluation routes, storm preparedness, and more.
Broward County Hurricane Preparedness
FEMA - Plan & Prepare
Provides information on preparing for a variety of potential disasters.

National Hurricane Center Alerts / NOAA

Hurricanes & Tropical Weather Reports

Last Updated: Sep 11, 2024 1:49 PM
URL: https://libguides.fau.edu/news_weather-boca
Print Page

Subjects: General & Reference, News & Current Events, Physical, Mathematical & Earth Sciences

Tags: news, weather

Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911