Skip to Main Content

We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

Instructional Resources for College of Medicine Course & Clerkship Directors

Library resources to support: clinical teaching and/or integration of clinical concepts within foundational science courses; case-based teaching and/or interactive learning; and student self-assessment and USMLE preparation

General Case-Based Podcasts

Harrison's Podclass (AccessMedicine)
Discussions of board-style case vignettes from Harrison’s Self Assessment and Board Review.
Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast
A case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.

General Visual Cases

Harrison's Visual Case Challenge (Cases) by Charles Wiener; Anthony S. Fauci; Stephen L. Hauser; Dan L. Longo; J. Larry Jameson; Dennis L. Kasper; Joseph Loscalzo
ISBN: 9781260463040
Publication Date: 2021
*1281 Questions Available via AccessMedicine
Critical Concept Mastery Series: Chest Imaging Cases by Zachary Healy
ISBN: 9781260457896
Publication Date: 2021
*Cases available via AccessMedicine

Acid-Base Disorders

Critical Concept Mastery Series: Acid-Base Disturbance Cases by Zachary Healy
ISBN: 9781260457872
Publication Date: 2021
*Cases available via AccessMedicine
Harrison's Fluid/Electrolyte & Acid-Base Cases by Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci; Dennis L. Kasper; Stephen Hauser; Dan Longo; J. Larry Jameson
ISBN: 9781264268504
Publication Date: 2022
*Cases available via AccessMedicine.

Anatomy

Case Files Anatomy 3/e by Eugene C. Toy; Lawrence M. Ross; Cristo Papasakelariou; Hang Zhang
ISBN: 9780071794862
Publication Date: 2014-10-09
*58 cases available via Case Files Collection

Anesthesiology

Case Files Anesthesiology by Lydia A. Conlay; Julia E. Pollock; Mary Ann Vann; Sheela Pai; Eugene C. Toy
ISBN: 9780071606394
Publication Date: 2010-10-14
*53 cases available via Case Files Collection

Biochemistry

Case Files Biochemistry 3/e by Eugene C. Toy; William E. Seifert; Henry W. Strobel; Konrad P. Harms
ISBN: 9780071794886
Publication Date: 2014-09-23
*53 cases available via Case Files Collection

Cardiology

Case Files Cardiology by Eugene C. Toy; Michael D. Faulx
ISBN: 9780071799195
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
*30 cases available via Case Files Collection

Critical Care

Case Files Critical Care, Second Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Manuel Suarez
ISBN: 9781259641855
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
*42 cases available via Case Files Collection

Emergency Medicine

Case Files Emergency Medicine, Fifth Edition by Ciara Barclay-Buchanan; Eugene C. Toy; Barry Simon; Katrin Y. Takenaka; Adam J. Rosh
ISBN: 9781264268337
Publication Date: 2023-02-07
*5th edition available via Case Files Collection

Family Medicine

Case Files Family Medicine 5th Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Donald Briscoe; Bruce S. Britton; Joel John Heidelbaugh
ISBN: 9781260468595
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
*66 cases available via Case Files Collection
Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review (Cases) by Jason K. Wilbur; Mark Graber; Brigit Ray
ISBN: 9781260441079
Publication Date: 2020
*Cases Available via AccessMedicine

Geriatrics

Case Files Geriatrics by Eugene C. Toy; Andrew Dentino; Monique Williams; Lowell Johnson
ISBN: 9780071770781
Publication Date: 2014-02-19
*40 cases available via Case Files Collection

Internal Medicine

Vanderbilt IM/Peds (Cases) by Maie El-Sourady
Publication Date: 2019
*Cases Available via AccessMedicine
Case Files Internal Medicine, Sixth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Gabriel Aisenberg
ISBN: 9781260469967
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
*67 cases available via Case Files Collection
Resident Readiness Internal Medicine (Cases) by Debra L. Klamen; Susan Thompson Hingle
ISBN: 9780071773188
Publication Date: 2013
*Cases available via AccessMedicine

Medical Ethics & Professionalism

Case Files Medical Ethics and Professionalism by Eugene C. Toy; Susan P. Raine; Thomas I. Cochrane
ISBN: 9780071839624
Publication Date: 2015-03-16
*36 cases available via Case Files Collection

Microbiology

Sherris & Ryan's Medical Microbiology (Cases) by Kenneth J. Ryan; Scott Weissman; Nafees Ahmad; J. Andrew Alspaugh; W. Lawrence Drew; Michael Lagunoff; Paul Pottinger; L. Barth Reller; Megan E. Reller; Charles R. Sterling
ISBN: 9781260464283
Publication Date: 2021
*Cases Available via AccessMedicine
Case Files Microbiology, Third Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Cynthia R. Skinner DeBord; Audrey Wanger; James D. Kettering; Anush S. Pillai; Ronald C. Mackenzie
ISBN: 9780071820233
Publication Date: 2014-09-18
*54 cases available via Case Files Collection

Neurology & Neuroanatomy

Case Files Neurology, Fourth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Pedro Mancias; Erin Furr Stimming; Doris H. Kung
ISBN: 9781264268801
Publication Date: 2022-10-19
*4th edition available via AccessMedicine's Case Files Collection
Case Files Neuroscience 2/e by Eugene C. Toy; Josh Neman; Evan Y. Snyder; Rahul Jandial
ISBN: 9780071790253
Publication Date: 2014-10-03
*49 cases available via Case Files Collection
Clinical Neuroanatomy (Cases), 29e by Stephen G. Waxman
ISBN: 9781260452358
Publication Date: 2020-05-25
*Cases provided in the 29th edition available via AccessMedicine.

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology by Eugene C. Toy; Patti Jayne Ross
ISBN: 9780071848725
Publication Date: 2022
*6th edition available online with unlimited simultaneous users via Case Files Collection

Pathology

Case Files Pathology, Second Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Margaret O. Uthman; Edward Uthman; Earl J. Brown
ISBN: 9780071486668
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
*50 cases available via Case Files Collection

Pediatrics

Vanderbilt IM/Peds (Cases) by Maie El-Sourady
Publication Date: 2019
*Cases Available via AccessMedicine
Pediatrics Examination and Board Review (Cases) by Andrew Peterson; Kelly Wood
ISBN: 9780071847681
Publication Date: 2016
*Cases available via AccessPediatrics
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine (Cases) by Ira Adams-Chapman; David P. Carlton; James E. Moore
ISBN: 9780071767941
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
*Cases available via AccessPediatrics
Case Files Pediatrics by Mark D. Hormann; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer; Eugene C. Toy; Robert J. Yetman
ISBN: 9780071839952
Publication Date: 2015-10-22
*6th edition available online with unlimited simultaneous users via Case Files Collection
Symptom-Based Diagnosis in Pediatrics (Cases) by Samir S. Shah; Stephen Ludwig
ISBN: 9780071601740
Publication Date: 2014-01-13
*Cases available via AccessPediatrics

Pharmacology

Case Files Pharmacology, Third Edition by Eugene C. Toy; David S. Loose; Shelley A. Tischkau; Anush S. Pillai
ISBN: 9780071790239
Publication Date: 2013-09-04
*56 cases available via Case Files Collection
Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Douglas Rollins; Donald Blumenthal
ISBN: 9780071793360
Publication Date: 2015
*Cases available via AccessMedicine

Physiology

Case Files Physiology, Second Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Norman W. Weisbrodt; William P. Dubinsky; Roger G. O'Neil; Edgar T. (Terry) Walters; Konrad P. Harms
ISBN: 9780071493741
Publication Date: 2008-10-09
*51 cases available via Case Files Collection
Pathophysiology of Disease (Cases) by Gary D. Hammer; Stephen J. McPhee
ISBN: 9781260026504
Publication Date: 2018
*Cases available via AccessMedicine

Psychiatry

Case Files Psychiatry by Eugene C. Toy; Debra L. Klamen
ISBN: 9781260468731
Publication Date: 2020-11-18
*6th edition available online with unlimited simultaneous users via
Case Files Collection.

Surgery

Case Files Surgery, 6e by Eugene C. Toy; Terrence H. Liu; Andre R. Campbell; Barnard Palmer
ISBN: 9781259585227
Publication Date: 2022
*6th edition available via Case Files Collection

Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911