Skip to Main Content
Beginning this summer and throughout the fall semester, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Books Available in the FAU Libraries
Crypto School by Joachim von zur Gathen
This book offers an introduction to cryptology, the science that makes secure communications possible, and addresses its two complementary aspects: cryptography----the art of making secure building blocks----and cryptanalysis----the art of breaking them. The text describes some of the most important systems in detail, including AES, RSA, group-based and lattice-based cryptography, signatures, hash functions, random generation, and more, providing detailed underpinnings for most of them. With regard to cryptanalysis, it presents a number of basic tools such as the differential and linear methods and lattice attacks. This text, based on lecture notes from the author's many courses on the art of cryptography, consists of two interlinked parts. The first, modern part explains some of the basic systems used today and some attacks on them. However, a text on cryptology would not be complete without describing its rich and fascinating history. As such, the colorfully illustrated historical part interspersed throughout the text highlights selected inventions and episodes, providing a glimpse into the past of cryptology. The first sections of this book can be used as a textbook for an introductory course to computer science or mathematics students. Other sections are suitable for advanced undergraduate or graduate courses. Many exercises are included. The emphasis is on providing reasonably complete explanation of the background for some selected systems.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2015-11-28
How to Succeed in College Mathematics by Richard Dahlke
This guide or reference book is for the college mathematics student, but is also valuable for college prep high school students, and, for college and high school, inexperienced and experienced instructors, academic support personnel, and counselors. The book addresses comprehensively, authoritatively, and authentically, the issues students face in college mathematics. The ideas, grounded in research and experience, could keep students from receiving an undesirable grade, dropping a course, changing an area of concentration, or dropping out of college. There are many gems of wisdom for the struggling to the strong mathematics student. Students will find out how to: improve as a problem solver; manage assignments; determine if they have course prerequisites; work with symbolic form; read their textbooks; get the most out of class; make the most of their learning styles; work with classmates; select and work with their instructors; determine if they should drop a course; retake a course; decrease procrastination and anxiety; increase confidence and motivation; prepare for and take examinations; manage time, a job, and scheduling of classes. A table of contents and index are included, making it easy to maneuver through the book and find what is needed. The author, Dr. Richard M. Dahlke, began his career as a high mathematics teacher. He subsequently spent 34 years as a professor of mathematics at the University of Michigan, Dearborn, teaching all levels of mathematics, but focusing on teaching calculus-track courses in the lower division, and courses for preservice elementary and secondary mathematics concentrators.
Call Number: QA11.2.D34 2008 (Boca Raton Campus)
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Creative Teaching: Mathematics in the Primary Classroom by Mary Briggs
This stimulating text shows how primary mathematics can be creative, exciting and enjoyable. Offering teachers a dynamic and different perspective, it enables them to see and teach in creative ways that will develop their pupil's mathematical thinking potential. Creative Teaching: Mathematics in the Primary Classroomencourages students, trainees and practicing teachers to envision and develop a classroom where children can take risks, enjoy and experiment with mathematical thinking, and discover and pursue their interests and talents in an imaginative yet purposeful way. This second edition contains key updates to reflect the changes to the primary curriculum and includes: new sections on: specialist teaching, parental engagement and approaches to homework; creative classroom environments; working walls, displays and outdoor settings; links to assessment, speaking, listening and learning theory; use of media, film, news and stories for creative learning; cross-curricula work. Featuring reflective tasks in every chapter, this book will prove essential and inspiring reading for all trainee and practising teachers looking to develop their creative practice. Aimed at primary and early years trainee teachers, NQTs and experienced teachers, this is a timely publication for teachers and schools seeking to broaden their maths curriculum, making it more creative and appealing to young minds.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2014-09-23
More Math into LaTeX by George Grätzer
This is the fourth edition of the standard introductory text and complete reference for scientists in all disciplines, as well as engineers. This fully revised version includes important updates on articles and books as well as information on a crucial new topic: how to create transparencies and computer projections, both for classrooms and professional meetings. The text maintains its user-friendly, example-based, visual approach, gently easing readers into the secrets of Latex with The Short Course. Then it introduces basic ideas through sample articles and documents. It includes a visual guide and detailed exposition of multiline math formulas, and even provides instructions on preparing books for publishers.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required) and Z253.4.L38 G745 2007 (Boca Raton Campus)
Publication Date: 2007-07-14
Read online or download onto a device! Check-outs (or returns) not required.
ebooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Well over 60,000 E-Books covering a full range of subjects.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
FAU Libraries does not subscribe to all titles offered through this site.
Oxford Scholarship Online includes academic works published by Oxford and other scholarly presses. Subject areas include humanities, social sciences and sciences. Access is only available to FAU purchased content.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books purchased mostly by the FAU Libraries, with some of the collection purchased with student tech fees.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals in business, law, medicine, humanities, science, and social science disciplines. Also, includes some e-books published by Springer.
Many classical works in mathematics are available on the Internet. See these web sites for authors and titles of works!
The Euler Archive
The Euler Archive is an online resource for Leonhard Euler's original works and modern Euler scholarship. This dynamic library and database provides summaries of and access to digitized versions of original publications, and references to available translations and current research. Created by the Mathematical Association of America.
Contains primary source books, digitized to show their original form
Internet Archive - Books
Some books can be freely read and downloaded. Others can be borrowed and read in Internet Archive's online book reader.
Call Number: QA1 - QA939
Elementary Mathematics and Arithmetic
Call Number: QA101 - QA145
Call Number: QA150 - QA 272.5
Probabilities and Mathematical Statistics
Call Number: QA 273 - QA280
Geometry, Trigonometry, and Topology
Call Number: QA440 - QA 699
- Differential Equations
- Gaussian Processes
- Mathematics--Study and Teaching
- Number Theory
- Stochastic Processes
Last updated on Jan 23, 2023 4:23 PM