LibGuides: Latin American Studies: Find Articles

Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
This resource enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to ten (10) simultaneous users.
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands, including Bermuda, published in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to one (1) user
Content includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The Chicano Database gives researchers targeted access to the materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender of the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience.
Clase and Peridioca (ClasePeriodica) This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, news magazines and newspaper articles regarding arts and humanities, social sciences and science and technology disciplines.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publications indexed include scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, newspapers, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports. Covers 175 titles. Topics: women's studies, gender studies, family studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Covers social science and humanities records that describe books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in Latin American studies.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A collection of Spanish- and Portuguese- language journals in full text, both from and about Latin America. (Una coleccin de revistas hispanas y portuguesas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologa, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.)
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Creating an account is not required; click on 'Use Mango As A Guest' to navigate the site. Creating an account allows you to save your study time results.
Mango Languages is a self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.
Please note: Mango allows for users to be designated as "instructor," which provides access to guides, lesson plans, and student workbooks; the linking of lessons via Canvas; assessment; and the tracking of student progress. If you are an FAU faculty member or instructor, and would like to be added to Mango as instructor, please contact eresources@fau.edu with your request.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Includes over one million citations from journals. Indexes books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, etc. pertaining to folklore, language, and literature. Sources number more than 6,500.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Last updated on Sep 11, 2024 1:05 PM