LibGuides: International Business Student Orientation: Searching Business Databases

Best Practices for Locating Articles

1. Identify the title of the journal (Example: Strategic Finance) and date from the reference to the article that you need.

2. Go to the FAU Libraries home page by typing in www.fau.edu/library

3. Under “Quick Links” click on “Electronic Journals,” which is a list of journals that we have online, and type in the name of the journal (Example: Harvard Business Review).

4. Locate a database (Example: Business Source Premier) where your journal and year can be found and click on the database name.

5. In the database, click on the year of the journal that you need, and locate by date and page numbers (or title) your article.

Examples: Beckett, Brian J. (2010). Mentorship Is Key to Career Success. Strategic Finance, 92(4), 21-22.

Ward, Scott, Light, Larry, & Goldstein, Jonathan (1999). What High-Tech Managers Need to Know about

Brands. Harvard Business Review, 77(4), 85-95.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry) This link opens in a new window This resource enables one to search multiple ABI databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Archive Complete, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window Formerly Business & Company Resource Center. Includes company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and full-text articles.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window A research database with full-text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new window Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Funded by statewide allocation.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information. Funded by statewide allocation.
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record. Funded by statewide allocation.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Also see Historical Wall Street Journal. The paper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers can access not only top news stories but also detailed information from all the paper's sections. For each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words helps the researcher know if the complete text will meet his or her needs.

Last updated on Jan 6, 2025 1:10 PM