LibGuides: Hispanic Latino Heritage Month: Find Articles

Selected Databases

The following databases may be especially useful to researchers studying topics related to Latin America and Hispanic Americans. Some of them include materials published in Spanish. For a complete list of available databases, click here.

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to one (1) user
Content includes over 67,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources including newspapers, books and book chapters. The Chicano Database gives researchers targeted access to the materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender of the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience.
Clase and Peridioca (ClasePeriodica) This link opens in a new window
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Offers access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
The Global Road Warrior database provides access to country information in various categories such as business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers social sciences and humanities.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
A collection of Spanish- and Portuguese- language journals in full text, both from and about Latin America. (Una coleccin de revistas hispanas y portuguesas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologa, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.)
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection provides more than 35 fully searchable key Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
With 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, and 300 plays, Latin American Women Writers accomplishes the difficult task of bringing together the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection. Starting in the colonial period and moving through to the present, the literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials will give researchers the feminine perspective of the development of an entire continent.
Latino Literature This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It currently contains over 106,000 pages of poetry.
Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
Creating an account is not required; click on 'Use Mango As A Guest' to navigate the site. Creating an account allows you to save your study time results.
Mango Languages is a self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.
Please note: Mango allows for users to be designated as "instructor," which provides access to guides, lesson plans, and student workbooks; the linking of lessons via Canvas; assessment; and the tracking of student progress. If you are an FAU faculty member or instructor, and would like to be added to Mango as instructor, please contact eresources@fau.edu with your request.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-search historical collections containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents, and ephemera. This resource provides access to America's Historical Imprints, including Early American Imprints Series I: Evans, Early American Imprints Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, American Civil War Collection, and American Slavery Collection; America's Historical Newspapers, including African American Newspapers and Caribbean Newspapers; Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports; and World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship in a variety of subject areas. Included subject areas: Education, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, and Social Work.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Use OneSearch to Find Articles

OneSearch

Unsure of which database to use? Use OneSearch to search for articles in all of FAU's databases at one time!

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Last updated on Feb 28, 2024 12:39 PM