The Library of Congress call numbers related to history are primarily within the ranges from D1 through F3799, detailed as follows:
D1 to D2027: General History
This range covers broad historical works that span multiple regions or themes, including worldwide history, historiography, and the theory and methodology of history.
D55 to D90: Ancient History
Focuses on the ancient civilizations of the world, covering early societies such as Mesopotamia, Egypt, Greece, Rome, and other ancient cultures.
D111 to D203: Medieval History
Covers the history of the Middle Ages, roughly from the fall of the Roman Empire to the beginning of the Renaissance, including political, social, and cultural aspects of medieval Europe and neighboring regions.
D204 to D475: Modern History (from 1453 onward)
Centers on the early modern period, starting with the fall of Constantinople in 1453, and addresses topics such as the Renaissance, Reformation, the Age of Discovery, and developments up to the modern era.
D900 to D2009: General History of Europe
Encompasses the history of European nations, nations’ development, political movements, cultural transformations, and international relations within Europe.
E11 to E143: History of America (General)
This section includes general histories of the American continent, encompassing aspects like exploration, colonial history, and the interaction of indigenous peoples with European settlers.
E151 to E889: History of the United States (General and Political History)
Focuses on U.S. history with emphasis on political developments, governmental institutions, major events, and national movements from colonial times through contemporary history.
F1 to F975: United States Local History
Covers detailed studies and histories specific to U.S. states, cities, and regions, highlighting local events, cultures, and notable figures.
F1001 to F1145.2: History of Canada
Pertains to Canadian history including its indigenous peoples, colonization, political evolution, and social and cultural tendencies.
F1201 to F3799: History of Latin America and Spanish America
Encompasses the historical development of countries in Central and South America, including colonial histories, independence movements, and socio-political changes in these regions.
This classification helps researchers and readers precisely locate historical materials corresponding to specific periods, regions, and thematic areas within the vast field of history.
The Library Catalog allows you to search for books, government documents, DVDs, electronic books, and other materials in the Library's collection.
Going to the sources : a guide to historical research and writing
by
It's been almost 30 years since the first edition of Going to the Sources: A Guide to Historical Research and Writing was first published. Newly revised and updated, the sixth edition of this bestselling guide helps students at all levels meet the challenge of writing their first (or their first "real") research paper. Presenting various schools of thought, this useful tool explores the dynamic, nature, and professional history of research papers, and shows readers how to identify, find, and evaluate both primary and secondary sources for their own writing assignments. This new edition addresses the shifting nature of historical study over the last twenty years. Going to the Sources: A Guide to Historical Research and Writing includes: A new section analyzing attempts by authors of historical works to identify and cultivate the appropriate public for their writings, from scholars appealing to a small circle of fellow specialists, to popular authors seeking mass readership A handy style guide for creating footnotes, endnotes, bibliographical entries, as well as a list of commonly used abbreviations Advanced Placement high school and undergraduate college students taking history courses at every level will benefit from the engaging, thoughtful, and down-to-earth advice within this hands-on guide.
The unpredictable past : explorations in American cultural history
by
"The future is certain," according to an old Soviet joke, "it is only the past that is unpredictable." But it is not solely in totalitarian societies that the past is contested terrain. Disagreements about the meaning and significance of past events and people have been part of the landscape in our own society from its inception. To the historian, therefore, the unpredictability of the past is no laughing matter. Indeed, so protracted have historical disputes become in recent years that there has been a growing conviction among many that the venerable craft of history is in a state of crisis. In this brilliant new collection of essays, Lawrence W. Levine, one of our premier writers of history and President-Elect of the Organization of American Historians, offers an incisive response to the controversy which rages in the academy today. This debate among historians does not concern, as one might think, conflicting interpretations of the past, but rather concentrates upon which past events, peoples, and cultures are significant enough to deserve our attention. Taking issue with those who desire "synthesis" above all else, Levine's book constitutes a passionate call for inclusion, a history that extends the traditional focus on the centers of political, economic, and social power to embrace the panoply of ethnic, racial, regional, occupational, class, and gender groups that have been ignored or distorted in the past, and subject areas--like folk and popular culture--that have been by-passed or denigrated as trivial. The fourteen essays included here seek not to erect new fences and shut more doors but to expand our knowledge, supplement our approaches, and broaden our historical vision. The Unpredictable Past offers eloquent discussions of American history and historiography at large, African-American culture, and, perhaps most fascinating, the times of the Great Depression during which film, radio, photography, and even the comic strip emerged as significant manifestations of a changing American popular culture. There are also trenchant examinations of folk songs and folktales, Marcus Garvey's role as a black leader in the 1920s, jazz and American culture, Hollywood's unique view of national government in Washington (especially as seen in the films of Frank Capra), even Shakespeare's role as the most popular playwright in nineteenth-century America. The immediacy of each essay is enhanced by the brief introductions that place each one not only in the context of Levine's career, but in that of American history as a whole. Through the course of the book, Levine demonstrates how history, from generation to generation, is viewed through the prism of an ever-changing present and rather than distorting our vision, offers us new ways of seeing things, fresh insights not only into the past, but into the present and the future as well. The Unpredictable Past is a remarkably wide-ranging lens for viewing the richly textured history of America.
That noble dream : the "objectivity question" and the American historical profession
by
The aspiration to relate the past 'as it really happened' has been the central goal of American professional historians since the late nineteenth century. In this remarkable history of the profession, Peter Novick shows how the idea and ideal of objectivity were elaborated, challenged, modified, and defended over the last century. Drawing on the unpublished correspondence as well as the published writings of hundreds of American historians from J. Franklin Jameson and Charles Beard to Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., and Eugene Genovese, That Noble Dream is a richly textured account of what American historians have thought they were doing, or ought to be doing, when they wrote history - how their principles influenced their practice and practical exigencies influenced their principles.
Writing the Civil War The Quest to Understand
by
Studies diverse topics on the writing of Civil War history No event has transformed the United States more fundamentally--or been studied more exhaustively--than the Civil War. In Writing the Civil War, fourteen distinguished historians present a wide-ranging examination of the vast effort to chronicle the conflict--an undertaking that began with the remembrances of Civil War veterans and has become an increasingly prolific field of scholarship. Covering topics from battlefield operations to the impact of race and gender, this volume is an informative guide through the labyrinth of Civil War literature. The contributors provide authoritative and interpretive evaluations of the study and explication of the struggle that has been called the American Iliad. The first four essays consider military history: Joseph Thomas Glatthaar writes on battlefield tactics, Gary W. Gallagher on Union strategy, Emory M. Thomas on Confederate strategy, and Reid Mitchell on soldiers. In essays that focus on political concerns, Mark E. Neely, Jr. links the military and political with his examination of presidential leadership, while Michael F. Holt surveys the study of Union politics, and George C. Rable examines the work on Confederate politics. Michael Les Benedict bridges political and societal concerns in his discussion of constitutional questions; Phillip Shaw Paludan and james L. roark confront the broad themes of economics and society in the North and South; and Drew Gilpin Faust and Peter Kolchin evaluate the importance of gender, slavery, and race relations. Writing the Civil War demonstrates the richness and diversity of Civil War scholarship and identifies topics yet to be explored. Noting a surprising dearth of scholarship in several area, the essays point to new directions in the quest to understand the complexities of the most momentous event in American history.
Thinking Back
by
Examines how viewpoints have changed on the history of the south and explains the reasons for a reinterpretation of Southern history.
The Writing of American History
by
Events which become historical, says Michael Kraus, do not live on because of their mere occurrence. They survive when writers re-create them and thus preserve for posterity their otherwise fleeting existence. Paul Revere's ride, for example, might well have vanished from the records had not Longfellow snatched it from approaching oblivion and given it a dramatic spot in American history. Now Revere rides on in spirited passages in our history books. In this way the recorder of events becomes almost as important as the events themselves. In other words, historiography--the study of historians and their particular contributions to the body of historical records-must not be ignored by those who seriously wish to understand the past. When the first edition of Michael Kraus's "Writing of American History "was published, a reviewer for the "New York Herald Tribune "wrote: "No serious study of our national origins and development can afford not to have such an aid as this at his elbow." The book quickly came to be regarded as one of the few truly standard general surveys of American historiography, invaluable as a reference book, as a textbook, and as a highly readable source of information for the interested general reader. This new edition with coauthor Davis D. Joyce confirms its position as the definitive work in the field. Concise yet comprehensive, here is an analysis of the writers and writings of American history from the Norse voyages to modern times. The book has its roots in Kraus's pioneering History of American History, published in 1937, a unique and successful attempt to cover in one volume the entire sweep of American historical activity. Kraus revised and updated the book in 1953, when it was published under the present title. Now, once again, the demand for its revision has been met. Davis D. Joyce, with the full cooperation and approval of Kraus, has thoroughly revised and brought up to date the text of the 1953 edition. The clarity and evenhandedness of Kraus's text has been carefully preserved. The last three chapters add entirely new material, surveying the massive and complex body of American historical writing since World War II: "Consensus: American Historical Writing in the 1950s," "Conflict: American Historical Writing in the 1960s," and "Complexity: American Historical Writing in the 1970s-and Beyond."
The Future of the Past
by
The late C. Vann Woodward was one of America's most prominent historians. His books have won every major history award--including the Pulitzer, Bancroft, and Parkman Prizes--and he has served as president of both the American Historical Association and the Organization of American Historians. The Future of the Past collects two decades worth of Woodward's most significant essays, addresses, and major book reviews, including two important presidential addresses--"The Future of the Past" and "Clio with Soul" (his trenchant assessment of Afro-American history)--as well as essays on changing historical concerns of the past decades, the value of comparative history, the South in Reconstruction times and the South today, and the use of fiction in history (and history in fiction). Woodward has written illuminating introductory comments on each section and offers an incisive general introduction about history and the direction the profession is taking today. Whether reviewing William Safire's novel Freedom or evaluating Henry Adam's portrait of Jefferson, Woodward's essays reflect a lifetime of thought on history and historical writing, and are essential reading for anyone concerned with either.
History and Historians
by
For undergraduate courses in Philosophy of History and Historiography. Ideal supplemental text for American History or Western Civilization or similar survey courses.As a survey of historical thinking in the West from ancient times to the present, this accessible text focuses on historiography, philosophy of history, and historical methodology, introducing the main issues to beginning students with thorough and balanced discussions.
The elements of style
by
'The Elements of Style' (1918), by William Strunk, Jr., is an American English writing style guide. It is the best-known, most influential prescriptive treatment of English grammar and usage, and often is required reading and usage in U.S. high school and university composition classes. This edition of 'The Elements of Style' details eight elementary rules of usage, ten elementary principles of composition, "a few matters of form", and a list of commonly misused words and expressions.
Historiography: ancient, medieval, & modern
by
In this pioneering work, Ernst Breisach presents an effective, well-organized, and concise account of the development of historiography in Western culture. Neither a handbook nor an encyclopedia, this up-to-date third edition narrates and interprets the development of historiography from its origins in Greek poetry to the present, with compelling sections on postmodernism, deconstructionism, African-American history, women's history, microhistory, the Historikerstreit, cultural history, and more. The definitive look at the writing of history by a historian, Historiography provides key insights into some of the most important issues, debates and innovations in modern historiography. Praise for the first edition: "Breisach's comprehensive coverage of the subject and his clear presentation of the issues and the complexity of an evolving discipline easily make his work the best of its kind."--Lester D. Stephens, American Historical Review
Everyman his own historian; essays on history and politics
by
Becker’s work emphasizes that historical knowledge is constructed from individual memory and personal experience, blended with broader societal narratives. He stresses that history is inherently subjective and relative, shaped by the needs, emotions, and perspectives of people in their particular times. Moreover, professional historians share with "Mr. Everyman" the effort of making sense of the past but do so with more formal methods and a broader view that aims to serve collective memory and understanding.
In essence, the book explores both the nature of history as a personal and social act and the political and ideological implications of how history is remembered and interpreted in different times and contexts.
The Historian's Craft
by
In this classic work, distinguished French economic historian, Marc Bloch, discusses the techniques of historical observation, analysis, and criticism, and the reestablishment of historical causation in assessing events. What is the value of history? What is the use of history? How do scholars attempt to unpack it and make connections in a responsible manner? While the topics of historiography and historical methodology have become increasingly popular, Bloch remains an authority. He argues that history is a who≤ no period and no topic can be understood except in relation to other periods and topics. And what is unique about Bloch is that he puts his theories into practice; for example, calling upon both his experience serving in WWI as well as his many years spent in peaceful study and reflection. He also argues that written records are not enough; a historian must draw upon maps, place-names, ancient tools, aerial surveys, folklore, and everything that is available. This is a work that argues constantly for a wider, more human history. For a history that describes how and why people live and work together. There is a living, breathing connection between the past and the present and it is the historian's responsibility to do it justice.
On History
by
The first English translation of Ecrits sur l'histoire--a collection of essays written over a twenty-year period following publication of Braudel's masterwork, La, Méditerranée--On History sets forth Braudel's reflections on the intellectual framework of his historical studies. Braudel calls on the historian to penetrate beneath the surface of political events to uncover and measure the forces shaping collective existence. Cycles of production, wages and prices, grids of communication and trade, fluctuations and climate, demographic trends, popular beliefs--all of these phenomena are proper subjects of the historian's investigations. It is only through study of the longue durée, Braudel argues, that one can discern structure, the supports and obstacles, the limits and his experience cannot escape. "The great French historian Fernand Braudel has done what only giants can: he has made Western man confront the problem of time--individual time, historical time, relative time, real time. . . . Braudel, more than any other historian, has wrestled with man's conception of time over time. . . What a magnificent fight he has fought."--Virginia Quarterly Review
The Historical Novel
by
Step into the world of history and fiction with Herbert Butterfield's groundbreaking work, "The Historical Novel." Originally born from an exceptional undergraduate essay that clinched the esteemed Le Bas Prize for Butterfield, this 1924 masterpiece explores the captivating interplay between historical novels and the broader study of history. Originally published by Cambridge University Press, this book reflects Butterfield's early brilliance and serves as a foundational piece in his illustrious career. Uncover the nuances of historical writings, their intricate dance with evidence, and the transformative effects of fictionalized history on both the reader and the historical narrative. A thought-provoking journey into the heart of historical scholarship, "The Historical Novel" is a must-read for enthusiasts seeking a deeper understanding of how literature intertwines with our comprehension of the past. Immerse yourself in Butterfield's insightful exploration, and discover a timeless connection between imagination and historical inquiry.
Man on his past: the study of the history of historical scholarship.
by
This book is an extended version of the Wiles lectures given at the Queen's University, Belfast, in 1954. It illustrates the rise, scope, methods and objectives of the history of historiography. The topics selected for discussion give a general outline of the modern historical movement from the mid-eighteenth century to the contribution of Lord Acton in the late nineteenth century. Significant landmarks in the history of historical scholarship are examined to illustrate the various kinds of treatment that can be given to the subject.
The Whig Interpretation of History
by
It is not as easy to understand the past as many who have written it would have us believe. The historians who look at it from the Protestant, progressive, "19th Century gentleman" viewpoint are defined by Professor Butterfield as "the Whig historians." The Whig historian studies the past with reference to the present. He looks for agency in history. And, in his search for origins and causes, he can easily select those facts that give support to his thesis and thus eliminate other facts equally important to the total picture.
The Idea of History
by
"The Idea of History." The book came to be a major inspiration for philosophy of history in the English-speaking world. It is extensively cited. According to Collingwood, the science which is dedicated to the study of mind is history. Collingwood's philosophy of mind and action is thus to be found in his philosophy of history, primarily in "The Idea of History"
Philosophy of History
by
This update of the original version focuses on six central problems in the critical philosophy of history and explores the connections among them. Starting with the fundamentals of each philosophical topic in history and then delving into the specifics of each to better understand the surrounding issues, the reference first offers a comprehensive introduction into these topics then covers explanation and understanding ... objectivity and value judgment .. causes in history ... the nature and role of narrative ... and historical determinism. Suitable for students, professors, and anyone else interested in the philosophy of history.
The Practice of History
by
The new edition of G. R. Elton's classic work is a wide-ranging, succinct and practical introduction for all students and general readers of history. It makes a major contribution to the question "what is history?".
In Defense of History
by
E. H. Carr's What Is History?, a classic introduction to the field, may now give way to a worthy successor. In his compact, intriguing survey, Richard J. Evans shows us how historians manage to extract meaning from the recalcitrant past. To materials that are frustratingly meager, or overwhelmingly profuse, they bring an array of tools that range from agreed-upon rules of documentation and powerful computer models to the skilled investigator's sudden insight, all employed with the aim of reconstructing a verifiable, usable past. Evans defends this commitment to historical knowledge from the attacks of postmodernist critics who see all judgments as subjective. Evans brings "a remarkable range, a nose for the archives, a taste for controversy, and a fluent pen" (The New Republic) to this splendid work.
Historians' fallacies: toward a logic of historical thought.
by
"If one laughs when David Hackett Fischer sits down to play, one will stay to cheer. His book must be read three times: the first in anger, the srcond in laughter, the third in respect....The wisdom is expressed with a certin ruthlessness. Scarcly a major historian escapes unscathed. Ten thousand members of the American Historical Association will rush to the index and breathe a little easier to find their names absent.
The nature of historical explanation
by
Gardiner approaches the idea of a philosophy of history by first giving an outline of the regularity interpretation of explanation. How far it is possible to regard all historical explanations, or even some, as approximating this pattern, how far the objections philosophers have marshalled against such an assimilation are justified, how far the alternative interpretations suggested correspond to the historian's actual procedure in certain cases; these represent the kind of questions that will have to be considered. By keeping the actual practice of historians constantly in view, he believes that the reader will be able to see some of the disputes that have raged concerning the philosophy of history in better perspective.
Theories of History
by
The book Theories of History, edited by Patrick L. Gardiner, is an anthology that provides a comprehensive overview of major philosophical and historiographical approaches to understanding history. It contains readings from classical to contemporary sources, divided broadly into two parts: the first surveying philosophies of history from thinkers like Vico to Collingwood, and the second addressing more recent views about historical knowledge and methodology. The book aims to explore how historians interpret and construct historical narratives, making it a key resource for students and scholars interested in the theoretical foundations of history. It was originally published in 1959 and includes Gardiner’s introductions and commentary to provide context and analysis for the included texts.
Understanding history : a primer of historical method
by
The book Understanding History: A Primer of Historical Method by Louis Gottschalk provides an in-depth overview of the principles and techniques historians use to critically examine and reconstruct the past. It explains the nature of history as a narrative derived from careful analysis of primary and secondary sources, emphasizing the challenges of verifying facts and interpreting evidence with scholarly rigor. The work serves as a foundational guide to historical methodology, illustrating how historians strive to approach the past "as a limit" through disciplined investigation while distinguishing history from fiction or speculation.
Truth in History
by
A professional critique of the tendency in academic scholarship to prove worth, which becomes relevance and which in turn is interpreted as a search not for truth but political correctness. Handlin explores the social history of historians and how and why a discipline surrenders the search for truth in favour of assertions of ideological purity.
History as art and as science; twin vistas on the past.
by
"Professor Hughes offers an earnest 'Unless there is some emotional tie, some elective affinity linking the student to his subject of study, the results will be pedantic and perfunctory.' In other words, it is only a step from the sublime to the meticulous. Those eager to guard against that sad descent will find History as Art and as Science a guide, a tonic, and an inspiration. Its short, electrifying essays are so magnificently sane and persuasive they should be required reading for every student who contemplates a major in history."
Scholar Adventurers
by
"A carefully detailed but by no means dull account of the more dignified pursuit of detection as practiced by literary scholars." --Kirkus Reviews "Although [Altick' sensibly mentions that research may be a misadventure, he naturally enough plays up its glamour and romance; and its fascination for the scholar is transmitted to the reader. His book, then, as popular reading is first-rate, solid, rewarding, and lively" --The Nation "a brisk, well-written book" --Time "This is a volume of gracefully written essays celebrating the feats of literary detective work performed by scores of learned men and women passionately in love with the minutiae of literary scholarships." --The New York Times "a more fascinating recital than any fictional mystery story, and its detectives are, it leads us to believe, more interesting in themselves--they are not mousy researchers--than fictional private eyes" --The Boston Globe Richard Altick's classic portrayal of scholars on the prowl has delighted generations of readers. From the exposure of British rare book dealer Thomas Wise--the most famous authority of his day--as a master forger of first editions to the discovery of thousands of new James Boswell papers, Altick shows the scholar at work. Chaucer, Shakespeare, Wordsworth, Shelley, Keats, and many others surrender previously unrevealed secrets to these dogged researchers, whose ceaseless sleuthing has increased our knowledge and appreciation of both literature and the people who created it. Richard D. Altick is Regent's Professor Emeritus of English at The Ohio State University. He is the author of The English Common Reader, Lives and Letters, To Be in England, Victorian Studies in Scarlet, Victorian People and Ideas, The Shows of London, Paintings from Books, and Deadly Encounters as well as numerous essays on English literature and culture.
Clio and the doctors : psycho-history, quanto-history, & history
by
The Modern Researcher
by
Part One: The Puritan Vision Introduction "A Modell of Christian Charity" (1630), John Winthrop Selection from A Compleat Body of Divinity (1688), Samuel Willard "The Examination of Mrs. Anne Hutchinson at the Court at Newtown" (1637), Anne Hutchinson Christenings Make Not Christians (1645), Roger Williams Selections from Bonifacius (1710), Cotton Mather "The Justice of God in the Damnation of Sinners" (1734) Selection from A Treatise Concerning Religious Affections (1746), Jonathan Edwards Part Two: Republican Enlightenment Introduction Selection from The Autobiography (1784-88), Benjamin Franklin A Dissertation on the Canon and the Feudal Law (1765), John Adams sear Selechction from Common Sense (1776), Thomas Paine Jefferson "Objections to the Constitution of Government Formed by the Convention" (1787), George Mason "Constitutional Convention Speech on a Plan of Government" (1787), Alexander Hamilton The Federalist, "Number 10" and "Number 51" (1787-88), James Madision Letters to Samuel Adams, October 18, 1790; and to Thomas Jefferson, November 15, 1813; April 19, 1817, John Adams Selection from Notes on the State of Virginia (1787) Letters to John Adams, October 28, 1813; to Benjamin Rush, with a Syllabus, April 21, 1803; and to Thomas Lawe, June 13, 1814, Thomas Jefferson Part Three: Evangelical Democracy Introduction, Charles Grandison Finney Selection from The Berean (1847), John Humphrey Noyes *Selection from Letters on the Equality of the Sexes, and the Condition of Woman (1838), Sarah M. Grimke Selection from Political Writings (1834), William Leggett "The Office of the People in Art, Government, and Religion" (1835), George Bancroft Selection from A Treatise on Domestic Economy (1841), Catharine Beecher "Of Wealth" (1858), Henry C. Carey Part Four: Romanticism and Reform Introduction "The Divinity School Address" (1838) "Self-Reliance" (1841), Ralph Waldo Emerson "The Great Lawsuit." Man versus Men. Woman versus Women." (1843), Margaret Fuller "Resistance to Civil Government" (1849), Henry David Thoreau *"Christian Nurture", Horace Bushnell "Hawthorne and His Mosses" (1850), Herman Melville Part Five: The Quest for Union Introduction, John C. Calhoun *"Enfranchisement of Woman" (1852), Louisa S. McCord Selection from Sociology for the South (1854), George Fitzhugh "What to the Slave Is the Fourth of July?" (1852), Frederick Douglass "Speech at Peoria, Illinois" (1854) "Address Before the Wisconsin State Agricultural Society" (1859) "Address Delivered at the Dedication of the Cemetary at Gettysburg" (1863) "Second Inaugural Address" (1865),, Abraham Lincoln Chronologies I
How to study history
by
Practicing History
by
From thoughtful pieces on the historian's role to striking insights into America's past and present to trenchant observations on the international scene, Barbara W. Tuchman looks at history in a unique way and draws lessons from what she sees. Here is a splendid body of work, the story of a lifetime spent " practicing history."
Probing the past; a guide to the study and teaching of history
by
Written especially for the history teacher, this two-part book combines a thorough discussion of the nature of the discipline of history with suggestions on the teaching of history. It is also appropriate as a textbook in secondary social studies methods.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911