LibGuides: Higher Education: Academic Career Guide: Get Articles

What is a database?

Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Selected Databases

All of the databases in this discipline can be found in our Education databases section.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,200 journals in the collection.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Connect off campus by using this link, or by going to Chronicle.com and creating an account using your @fau.edu email address
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. The Chronicle's website features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This link allows searching of the ERIC database covering the literature in the field of education.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides online videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Content includes demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The collection also contains a wealth of ready-to-use teaching tools, including course, study, and discussion guides, assessment checklists, and themed playlists.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Subject areas include adult education, arts, athletics, comparative education, competency-based education, computers in education, continuing education, educational technology, elementary education, government funding, higher education, instructional media, language arts, library science, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, parent-teacher relations, prayer in public schools, preschool education, religious education, school administration, science and mathematics, secondary educat
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports from the U.S. Department of Education. A resource for any educator - from school teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Provides full-text results for nearly half of the journal titles found in ERIC.
ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Covers education-related research from conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.