LibGuides: Graphic Design: Databases

Databases are great for finding information or resources that may be useful to your subject. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. You may also use a database to find full text articles, images, videos, and more.

To search through the databases, start with the FAU Libraries homepage and click on the Databases tab. You can then find a given database alphabetically or you can narrow your search for a database by clicking on the subjects dropdown menu.

Please note that databases are just containers that hold a small selection of journals, videos, and images. So you may need to search across a few databases to find all the information or resources on a given topic.

What are the differences between Databases and Journals?

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

Selected Databases

Below is a list of databases that you may find helpful in your search. Please note that this is not a comprehensive list but rather a starting point for your research.

Artstor This link opens in a new window Next week, August 1, ArtStor will be moving to the JSTOR platform. Your Personal Collections (part of your personal account) are already housed on JSTOR in Workspace, accessible from the top, right of the JSTOR page. If accessing ArtStor without an Artstor account, click on 'Home', top left, in order to leave the Registration page. To make use of all Artstor functionality, you will need to register. Use the Register hyperlink on the top right of the home page. The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. The collections cover many subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window From marketing professionals to students studying for advanced degrees in linguistic theory, this collection provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered, this collection provides resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content. Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Funded by statewide allocation.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text. Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education. Funded by statewide allocation.