We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
The World Wide Web can be useful for providing some types of information but often research using databaseswill provide better sources of information. Some sources in databases include trade journals, industry news sources, general business magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science is a scholarly journal. Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
IBISWorldThis link opens in a new windowIBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
Business Insights: EssentialsThis link opens in a new windowFormerly Business & Company Resource Center. Includes company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and full-text articles.
Mergent OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAs reported, financial information for public U.S. and international companies including company histories, background and details of debt and equity outstanding.
Business Source PremierThis link opens in a new windowA research database with full-text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantageThis link opens in a new windowStandard & Poor's Net Advantage provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.
Funded by statewide allocation.
