American Journalism and Fake News : Examining the Facts
This book provides a comprehensive and impartial overview of the state of American journalism and news-gathering in the 21st century, with a special focus on the rise--and meaning--of "fake news." * Reflects an easy-to-navigate question-and-answer format * Uses quantifiable data from respected sources as the foundation for examining every issue * Provides readers with leads to conduct further research in extensive Further Reading sections accompanying each entry * Analyzes claims made by individuals and groups of all political backgrounds and ideologies to fairly represent a diversity of perspectives
The Watchdog Still Barks: How Accountability Reporting Evolved for the Digital Age
Includes bibliographical references and index
Why Journalism Still Matters
Can we talk about the news media without proclaiming journalism either our savior or the source of all evil? It is not easy to do so, but it gets easier if we put the problems and prospects of journalism in historical and comparative perspective, view them with a sociological knowledge of how newsmaking operates, and see them in a political context that examines how political institutions shape news as well as how news shapes political attitudes and institutions. Adopting this approach, Michael Schudson examines news and news institutions in relation to democratic theory and practice, in relation to the economic crisis that affects so many news organizations today and in relation to recent discussions of "fake news." In contrast to those who suggest that journalism has had its day, Schudson argues that journalism has become more important than ever for liberal democracies as the keystone institution in a web of accountability for a governmental system that invites public attention, public monitoring and public participation. For the public to be swayed from positions people have already staked out, and for government officials to respond to charges that they have behaved corruptly or unconstitutionally or simply rashly and unwisely, the source of information has to come from organizations that hold themselves to the highest standards of verification, fact-checking, and independent and original research, and that is exactly what professional journalism aspires to do. This timely and important defense of journalism will be of great value to anyone concerned about the future of news and of democracy.
Truthteller: An Investigative Reporter's Journey Through the World of Truth Prevention...
There is a war on truth. And the liars are winning. There is an increasingly large number of weapons in the arsenal of the rich, the powerful and the elected to prevent the truth from coming out -- to bury it, warp it, twist it to suit their purposes. Truthteller exposes this toolbox of lies and deception, and reveals how governments and corporations have covered-up mass murder, corruption and catastrophe. In a world where Putin and Trump have successfully branded journalists as traffickers in fake news, while promoting the actual creators of fake news, investigative reporter Stephen Davis shows the tools that are used to deceive us and explains why they work. He draws from over three decades as an award-winning reporter, editor, foreign correspondent, television producer, documentary filmmaker, and journalism educator to analyse exclusive documents and interviews. Discover shocking details of deception in media across the globe and learn how to recognise and decode the lies we are told by those in power. Truthteller is an essential guide for understanding the modern media world -- for teachers, students and concerned citizens who want to know the facts, not fake news and conspiracy theories. It takes you inside the world of investigative reporting in an intimate history of a reporter's battles, won and lost, the personal and professional costs and the lives damaged along the way.
Media, Journalism, and Fake News: A Reference Handbook
This volume summarizes the evolution of news and information in the United States as it has been shaped by technology (penny press, radio, TV, cable, the internet) and form development (investigative journalism, tabloid TV, talk radio, social media). Media, Journalism, and "Fake News": A Reference Handbook provides readers with an overview of news and media in the United States. Additionally, the book discusses, additionally discussing the economic state of the news industry, partisan news, misinformation and disinformation, issues of representation, and the impact of social media. The volume starts with a background of the development of news and information in the United States. It then goes on to discuss significant problems, controversies, and solutions related to the topic. Readers also will be able to develop their understanding of the topic by reading profiles of key figures and organizations that contributed to the current news climate. A comprehensive list of resources will help readers decide where to go next should they want to learn more about a particular area of interest. * Provides readers with an overview of the development of news and information in the United States as an influential factor in a democracy, prompting readers to consider the importance of understanding this landscape * Summarizes how changes in technology have influenced the content and form of news and information distribution, highlighting for readers the relationship between technology and content * Points out the effects of different types of news and information -- from investigative journalism to disinformation spread via social media -- giving readers examples of the potential influence information might have on culture * Profiles key figures and organizations that contributed to the evolving news and information landscape, deepening readers' understanding of the depth and breadth of the landscape * Provides data about the current news and information landscape that captures elements of consumer engagement with a variety of news sources, providing readers with a broader understanding of how news and information is consumed and resonates with U.S. citizens
Objectively Engaged Journalism
A timely call for a new ethic of journalism engagement for today's troubled media sphere, Objectively Engaged Journalism argues that media should be neither neutral nor partisan but engaged in protecting egalitarian democracy. It shows how journalists, professional or citizen, can be both objective in method and dedicated to improving a global public sphere toxic with disinformation, fake news, and extremism. Drawing from history, ethics, and current media issues, Stephen Ward rejects the ideals of neutrality and "just the facts" objectivity, showing how they are based on invalid dualistic thinking with deep roots in Western culture. He presents a theory of pragmatic objectivity and applies it to journalism. Journalism's role in interpreting culture, he argues, needs a form of objectivity that embraces human strengths and limitations. Defining responsible journalism as situated, imperfect inquiry, Objectively Engaged Journalism is one of the first systematic studies of the ethical foundations of engaged journalism for a media that is increasingly perspectival and embedded in society.
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911