Navigating Fake News, Alternative Facts, and Misinformation in a Post-Truth World
In the current day and age, objective facts have less influence on opinions and decisions than personal emotions and beliefs. Many individuals rely on their social networks to gather information thanks to social media's ability to share information rapidly and over a much greater geographic range. However, this creates an overall false balance as people tend to seek out information that is compatible with their existing views and values. They deliberately seek out "facts" and data that specifically support their conclusions and classify any information that contradicts their beliefs as "false news." Navigating Fake News, Alternative Facts, and Misinformation in a Post-Truth World is a collection of innovative research on human and automated methods to deter the spread of misinformation online, such as legal or policy changes, information literacy workshops, and algorithms that can detect fake news dissemination patterns in social media. While highlighting topics including source credibility, share culture, and media literacy, this book is ideally designed for social media managers, technology and software developers, IT specialists, educators, columnists, writers, editors, journalists, broadcasters, newscasters, researchers, policymakers, and students.
Deception, Fake News, and Misinformation Online
The growing amount of false and misleading information on the internet has generated new concerns and quests for research regarding the study of deception and deception detection. Innovative methods that involve catching these fraudulent scams are constantly being perfected, but more material addressing these concerns is needed. The Handbook of Research on Deception, Fake News, and Misinformation Online provides broad perspectives, practices, and case studies on online deception. It also offers deception-detection methods on how to address the challenges of the various aspects of deceptive online communication and cyber fraud. While highlighting topics such as behavior analysis, cyber terrorism, and network security, this publication explores various aspects of deceptive behavior and deceptive communication on social media, as well as new methods examining the concepts of fake news and misinformation, character assassination, and political deception. This book is ideally designed for academicians, students, researchers, media specialists, and professionals involved in media and communications, cyber security, psychology, forensic linguistics, and information technology.
News Literacy: The Keys to Combating Fake News
At a time when misinformation in the media is abundant, this book explains the difficulty in nurturing students to become critical researchers and offers practical lessons that empower students to excavate information that will help them learn. This guide to teaching news literacy explores a wealth of resources and classroom-tested lessons that educators in grades 7-12 can use in their own libraries and classrooms. To introduce the concept of news literacy, the authors explain the steps of the inquiry and research process in detail and examine the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) 2016 report "Evaluating Information: The Cornerstone of Civic Online Reasoning" and related research studies. Lesson plans corresponding to each stage of the process are coordinated to relevant standards from the CCSS and ISTE and are accompanied by rubrics for providing students feedback on their progress as well as samples of student work as it evolved through the stages. Furthermore, the authors' anecdotal insights from their experiences in collaboratively implementing the lessons with colleagues are an invaluable addition for any librarian seeking to work with teachers to help students become critical researchers. Provides easily replicated and adaptable standards-based lessons Observes a classroom-tested research model applicable to grade levels 7-12 Constructs a usable framework for collaboration with colleagues Gives educators tools to advocate for the necessity of a vibrant, inquiry-based library media program
What's Fake News?
Fake news is a term that is used and often misused by politicians, in the news, and on social media. What does it really mean? Readers discover the answer to this question as they explore the realities of false news stories, misinformation, and bias. Through unbiased main text, detailed graphic organizers, full-color photographs, and helpful fact boxes, readers expand their understanding of this timely topic and engage their critical-thinking skills in the process. They also learn how they can become smarter media consumers, which is an essential life skill in today's world.
World War II Propaganda
Shows in illuminating detail how the Allied and Axis forces used visual images and other propaganda material to sway public opinion during World War II. Author David Welch provides a neatly organized primary resource that focuses on key themes associated with World War II propaganda. Readers will not only be engrossed with a wide range of propaganda artifacts, they will also receive a better and more nuanced understanding of the nature of this propaganda and how it was disseminated in different cultural and political contexts. This book reveals how leaders and spin doctors operating at behest of the state sought to shape popular attitudes both at home and overseas. A comprehensive introductory essay sets out the principles of propaganda theory in World War II, while the subsequent material provides examples of Allied- and Axis-generated propaganda and presents them in a readily accessible way that will help readers understand the context. Gives the reader primary source examples of World War II propaganda, answering the need for the study of images that is necessary in today's history study Includes a comprehensive bibliography
Fake News and Media Bias
Although news outlets are meant to be impartial, they have never been perfectly unbiased. Another layer was added to the ongoing debate over the role of news media after the 2016 U.S. presidential election, when allegations of fake news surfaced. How can people know which news sources to trust? This volume explores the fake news phenomenon and offers readers tips on how to be critical of what they see reported. Full-color photographs, engaging sidebars, and discussion questions enhance the compelling text as it explores this crucial aspect of a democratic society.
Trial by Internet
The relative anonymity the Internet provides allows us to assert our knowledge like a professor, show off our seemingly perfect lives, and judge like we're presiding over a court of law. The problem with this relatively new phenomenon is that we often make snap judgments about other people's actions or statements without knowing all of the facts, and without giving others the benefit of the doubt. This volume dives deep into the realities of the Internet age: Do we become different people when we're on the Internet? What responsibility do we have in our treatment of others in this new society? Is it our place to be virtual judge and jury?
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911