Business Databases
-
ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry) This link opens in a new window
This resource enables one to search multiple ABI databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Archive Complete, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
-
Business Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Business Education in Video features executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, "How To" features and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment. Subjects covered include Globalization, Operations & Logistics, Management, Marketing, Finance, Strategy, Entrepreneurship, Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, International Business, Negotiations, Ethics, Cross-cultural communication, Technology, and much more.
-
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Business (Gale OneFile) provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.
-
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Formerly Business & Company Resource Center. Includes company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and full-text articles.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
A research database with full-text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
-
Country Commerce
This database changed title. Please see EIU Viewpoint.
-
DemographicsNow (Gale Business)
Gale discontinued this database as of March 29, 2025.
For related demographic content please see Gale Business Insights
and ProQuest's Statistical Abstract of the United States.
-
EDGAR Database of Corporate Information This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The US Securities and Exchange Commission's official database of required filings from US public companies, including 10K reports, etc.
-
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) This link opens in a new window
This database covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, and tax. It supports prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. The interface is mapped to four key stagesplan, fund, start, and manage.
-
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
-
Hoover's Company Profiles This link opens in a new window
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
-
Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&Bs database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
-
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
This subscription will not be renewed; it will be ending June 30, 2025.
Please see Workspace for a similar resource.
As reported, financial information for public U.S. and international companies including company histories, background and details of debt and equity outstanding.
-
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications, including business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
This database covers today's hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, health care to immigration. It includes pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary documents, biographies, periodical articles and more. This is a good source for students to start research or analysis of an issue, to complete writing assignments, prepare for a debate, or create a presentation.
-
Sage Business Skills This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Skills helps students develop and practice real-world skills to
transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Supporting a range of courses, a self-guided journey to gain career-ready skill sets for professional success.Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
-
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage provides nine of its most popular publications: Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Corporation Records, Register, Stock Guide, Bond Guide, Earnings Guide, The Outlook, and Dividend Record.
Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
-
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.
-
Thomas Register This link opens in a new window
Open Access. Free/instant membership may be required for access.
Over 158,000 companies indexed by name, product and service classifications, and specific brand names. Links to online supplier catalogs, company web sites, and summary company profiles.
Business Around the World
-
Best Countries For Business
In deciding where to bring their business, companies must define their priorities by weighing multiple operating and human costs. National governments face a similar cost-benefit analysis in setting corporate tax rates and policy. The countries considered the most business-friendly are those that are perceived to best balance stability and expense. These market-oriented countries are a haven for capitalists and corporations.
-
Best Countries for Entrepreneurs in 2022: Top 10 Rankings
2021 Best Countries rankings, formed by US News & World Report, BAV Group, VMLY&R, and The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, evaluate countries with various indicators. In this article, we’re going to find out the best countries for entrepreneurs.
-
Country Risk Information
To better quantify investment risk, including the potential for market illiquidity and volatility; country specific risk charges are incorporated within AM Best's Universal BCAR Model. This enables the analytical team to increase the risk considered within an insurance company's invested assets which could diminish financial flexibility. Countries are categorized into one of five Country Investment Classes (CICs). Country Investment Class 1 (CIC-1) represents economies with relatively stable and liquid capital markets while CIC-5 represents markets with the least liquidity and highest volatility. It should be noted that while there are 5 CRTs and 5 CICs; there is not always a direct correlation between the two classifications. View the list of Best's Country Investment Classes.
-
Starting an International Business? Consider These 3 Countries
When you start a business, the first question that comes to mind is probably where you'll be located. You might have some ideas about your industry or what type of business you want to start. But where should you set up shop if you're considering expanding across borders and doing international business? Here are three ideal countries for starting a global business based on their ability to accommodate new businesses, lack of stress on the pocketbook and friendly atmosphere for foreigners who want to start something new.
-
Top 5 International Countries to Start a Business in
Every year, the World Bank Group releases its "Doing Business" report, which ranks the best countries to do business in, based on 10 key indicators.
In 2020, the top five countries best to start a business in were New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong (China), Denmark, and South Korea.
According to the 2020 report, 115 countries made it easier to do business in the past year, although Sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America generally fall behind; no countries in Latin America make the top 50.
-
-
Which are the best countries in the world for entrepreneurs in 2022?
Each year, the Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) presents its comparative assessment of national entrepreneurial conditions. The aim of this is to rank countries in terms of their ability to encourage new businesses. The results should be of interest to policymakers and entrepreneurs alike.
-
Globalization Partners
Top 10 Countries to Consider for Global Expansion 2020 and 2021
-
19 of the best countries to set up a company in 2024
Discover the best countries to set up a company in and equip yourself with all the information you need to successfully expand your business overseas in 2024.
-
-
These are the best countries to start or join a business in 2024
Drawing from the latest statistics and trends across various sources, the following countries emerge as prime choices for starting or joining a business in 2024. However, personal preferences, business goals, target market, industry sector, financial limitations, risk tolerance, and growth potential also play pivotal roles. Thorough research and consultation with experts are recommended before reaching any decisions.
-
The Best Countries to Start a Business in 2024
Starting a business is a significant decision that involves evaluating various factors such as economic stability, regulatory environment, market potential, and access to resources. As we move into 2024, certain countries stand out as ideal destinations for entrepreneurs. Here are the top five countries to consider for launching your business this year.
-
20 Best Countries to Start a Business in 2024
Check the 20 best countries to start a business. Well, guess what? You’re in luck! Today, we will get closer to the subject that touches everyone and will discover the top countries to start a business and make your dreams come true.
Last updated on Jul 1, 2025 2:27 PM
