LibGuides: Ethnic Studies: Find Articles

Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles, news articles, videos, and more for your research. Databases pull their information from a variety of Journals and other sources and compile it so that it is more easily found by the researcher. It is important to note that not any one database contains all the information a researcher needs, so be sure to check across several databases when searching for information.

Below you will find a list of databases that may be of interest to you while you are searching for information. Please note that these lists are just starting points for your research.

Suggested Databases

American Jewish Committee Archives This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Provides access to a massive online archive that contains materials from AJC's last hundred years. The website features speeches, radio programs, commercials, articles and much more.
Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Subjects include 1960s radicalism, the Motion Picture Production Code, Jewish emigration, Arab-Israeli relations, resettlement in post-War Europe, the Rastafari Movement, and the Holocaust.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. This resource includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Future releases will also feature journals, reference works, and interviews with key writers.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 enables users to search more than 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands, including Bermuda, published in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Digital Library of the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Provides access to digitized versions of the Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes more than 150 journals.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full-text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream

Funded by Florida Virtual Campus.
Florida and the Caribbean Open Books Series This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Florida and the Caribbean Open Books Series is composed of titles that showcase a long, distinguished history of publishing works of Latin American and Caribbean scholarship that connect through generations and places. The breadth and depth of the list demonstrates Floridas commitment to transnational history and regional studies. Todays readers will benefit from having free and open access to these works, as they provide unique perspectives on the historical scholarship on Florida and the Caribbean and serve as a foundation upon which todays researchers can build.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Covers social sciences and humanities.
Hillel Guide to Jewish Life on Campus This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Guide to Jewish Life on Campus offers information on hundreds of colleges and universities around the world.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.

Video and Audio Databases

Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

ProQuest's Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary source collections and streaming media. Subject matter spans across the curriculum —in literature; music; women's history; black history; psychological counseling and therapy; social and cultural history; theatre; and other areas.
See separate collection titles and the video platform - Alexander Street Press Video - within our A-Z Database List.
Anthropology (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. The resources work in tandem to bring the fieldwork process to life by juxtaposing original fieldwork with subsequent published ethnographies, as well as follow up studies and visual ethnographies that span a century.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
This edition of Black Drama contains approximately 1200 plays by 200 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and feature the work of many of the influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Music Online: African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
Music Online: African American Music Reference brings together text, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music.
Recorded Sound Archives (RSA) This link opens in a new window
Open Access
The Recorded Sound Archives collection of over 100,000 recordings from the first half of the 20th century features pop performers such as Bing Crosby, Doris Day, and Al Jolson (RSA Vintage Collection); the worlds most extensive online collection of Jewish recordings; music and images from childrens recordings damaged by SuperStorm Sandy; unique picture records; and early recordings by Jazz greats such as Duke Ellington and Benny Goodman.
Shoah (Visual History Archive) This link opens in a new window
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a streaming collection of primary source video testimonies from survivors of and witnesses to genocide. Users can search through and view more than 55,000 video testimonies.
Initially a repository of Holocaust (1939-1945) testimony, the Archive includes the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda; Anti-Rohingya Mass Violence (August-October 2017); Armenian Genocide (1915-23); and others.

Patrons can click on “Register” and create a unique username and password, as official login is required for use of “My Projects/Bookmarked Projects/Shared Projects” features.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Last updated on Feb 27, 2025 1:02 PM