Home - Nursing - Evidence-Based Care and Practice - LibGuides at Florida Atlantic University

Nursing Databases: Find Publications

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window This resource provides access to journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Subjects include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, this resource provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Coverage also includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. Funded by statewide allocation.
Ovid Online This link opens in a new window Access is limited to 1 or 3 simultaneous users for some content. Includes Journals@Ovid Full Text and Books@Ovid.
MEDLINE/PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: The Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, the content will be of use to both professionals in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

Protocols, Guidelines, and Standards of Care or Practice

AACN Standards
AHRQ Evidence-Based DecisionMaking
Clinical Pathways: multidisciplinary plans of best clinical practice.
ECRI Guidelines Trust Register for a free account to access ECRI's guidelines for various areas of practice in the health sciences.
more...less...
ECRI Institute is an independent nonprofit that researches the best approaches to improving patient care. Designated as an Evidence-based Practice Center by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and a Collaborating Center of the World Health Organization. ECRI Institute helps you assess and address your patient safety, quality, and risk management challenges; select the safest, most effective medical devices, procedures, and drugs; procure healthcare technology in the most cost-effective manner; develop evidence-based health coverage policies; and align hospital and health facility capital investments with your strategic technology needs.
State of Georgia: Quality Assurance/Quality Improvement for Public Health Nursing Practice
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force

Theses

Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window A known problem with searching Dissertations and Theses: It's necessary to search the WorldCat.org database, then use the Format facet "Thesis, Dissertation" under Book to narrow results. Provides access to to over 8 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University This link opens in a new window
A digital library of dissertations and theses from Florida Atlantic University.

Electronic Theses & Dissertations Collection (FAU Digital Library) Digital Library disseminates and preserves FAU electronic theses and dissertations. Some items in this collection may available only to FAU affiliates due to restrictions imposed by the author.

Hierarchy of Evidence, Types of Evidence, & Background Information Sources

Bandolier: Evidence based thinking about health care
Evidence-Based Nursing
more...less...
Evidence-Based Nursing surveys a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the quality and validity of research. Practising clinicians assess the clinical relevance of the best studies. The key details of these essential studies are presented in a succinct, informative abstract with an expert commentary on its clinical application. Published quarterly.

Books in the FAU Libraries

Introduction to Nursing Research Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice (5th ed.) by Carol Boswell; Sharon Cannon Evidence-based practice is the process nurses and other clinicians use to inform their decisions about patient care and delivery. Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research.Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice, Fifth Edition emphasizes EBP as a foundation for safe and effective health care. The text focuses on the connection between research and evidence based practice as related to the IOM, Macy report, Carnegie report, and federal health bill as appropriate. In addition, the Fifth Edition also discusses the impact of Magnet hospitals on research utilization, evidence-based practice, and moving evidence into practice. Key Features: Case studies which reflect the application of basic nursing care concepts Evidence-based practice components featuring sentinel events, medication errors, HIPPA, and quality improvement Evidence-based practice research searches compared to research expectationsCoverage of Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA process)Overview of tools such as Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), Transforming care at the Bedside (TCAB) Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Call Number: RT81.5.I5 2020
ISBN: 9781284149791
Publication Date: 2018-12-31
Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice (10th ed.) by Denise F. Polit Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 10th Edition has been updated to incorporate new methodological advances and, to the extent possible, substantive examples used to illustrate concepts will be from articles published in 2013 to 2015. The organizational structure introduced in the 9th edition will be maintained -- i.e., content focusing on quantitative research will be in Part III, and content on qualitative research will be in Part IV.
Call Number: RT81.5 .P64 2017 (Boca Raton Campus
ISBN: 9781496308924
Publication Date: 2017
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing (2nd ed.) by MyoungJin Kim; Caroline Mallory Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Second Edition is an accessible and comprehensive resource for nursing students and professionals. It present complex statistics content in a user-friendly format to meet various students learning styles. The text is easy to read, peer-reviewed, and course-tested.
Call Number: RT68.K49 2017 (Boca Raton Campus)
ISBN: 9781284088373
Publication Date: 2016-08-05
Evidence-Based Prac Nurs (4th ed.) by Melnyk, B. M. Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Call Number: RT42.M44 2019 (Boca Raton Campus - Course Reserves)
ISBN: 9781496384539
Publication Date: 2018-11-24

Last updated on Sep 10, 2024 3:14 PM