LibGuides: Cultural Anthropology: Home

About this guide

Welcome to the FAU Libraries subject guide for Cultural Anthropology. This Guide includes information resources including databases, journals, books and more. Please contact myself or another Reference Librarian for additional assistance.

Use the tabs at the left side of the page to find resources and information to help you research this topic.

This page serves as a guide for students by providing FAU library resources in this subject. The following can be found in this guide.

How to Find Articles: this page provides links to databases, or large, online collections of journal articles. Some databases also provide statistics and figures.

Browse Journals: search by journal title and browse journal articles by issue.

Find Books: access the FAU Libraries catalog to locate books and other library materials owned by the libraries.

Websites: there is some quality information on the Internet. This page links to reputable organizations and agencies that focus on Cultural Anthropology

Cultural Anthropology at FAU

Ethnography Lab
Founded in 2024, the Ethnography Lab at Florida Atlantic's (ELFA) mission is to support a creative collaborative of qualitative and mixed methods social scientists. ELFA is dedicated to facilitating strong ethnographic work in the areas of sustained climate disruption, zoonoses and human-environment interactions, and political ecologies of community life in South Florida and beyond. Current research methodologies utilized by ELFA includes:
-Participant observation
-Ethnographic interviewing
-Computer-assisted thematic analysis
-Small focus groups
Ecuador Field School
This course provides the student with the opportunity to put anthropological methods and theories into practice through participation in a supervised fieldwork situation in a village in coastal Ecuador. Doing ethnographic fieldwork is the hallmark of cultural anthropology. More than any other approach to the study of culture, it is the primary defining criterion for the discipline and its practitioners. For most anthropologists, having done fieldwork is both a fundamental rite of passage that moves one towards professional status and an important life event that in some fashion shapes the individual.

Library Hours Boca Raton & Partner Campuses

Fall 2024 Semester Hours (Boca Raton):

See our library hours for all campuses at the link above, including any changes to hours during the semester.

It's easy to reach us!

Partner Campus Library Hours:

John D. MacArthur Campus Library at Jupiter
Broward College / FAU Library
Broward College has a joint use library at their Davie Campus. Current FAU students are allowed full borrowing and access privileges to their collections.
Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute (HBOI)
Fort Lauderdale Campus - Broward County Library

Videos in Cultural Anthropology

FAU Student/Staff/Faculty video link
FAU Students/Faculty/Staff may access a documentary on Margaret Mead's "Coming of Age" video at this link. The importance of Margaret Mead's contributions to the field of cultural anthropology cannot be overstated.

Below is a video that documents the Hopi's Origin Story. The study of religion and language, such as the one featured in this video, are important factors (but not the only ones) that shape culture.

The Anthropologist follows American teenager, Katie Crate, over the course of five years as she travels alongside her mother Susie, a cultural anthropologist, studying the impact of climate change on different communities. Their journey parallels that of renowned anthropologist Margaret Mead, who for decades sought to understand how global change affects remote cultures.

Last updated on Nov 21, 2024 2:26 PM