LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Journals

Criminal justice journals are vital platforms for scholarly discussion and the dissemination of research within the field of criminal justice. These publications feature peer-reviewed articles, essays, and reviews authored by experts, offering critical insights, analyses, and perspectives on various aspects of criminal law, criminology, law enforcement, corrections, and related topics. They are crucial in advancing the study of criminal justice, promoting intellectual exchange, and shaping the discipline's future.

Researchers and students depend on these journals to keep up with current trends in criminology, engage with the latest research, and explore new developments in criminal justice. Additionally, criminal justice journals provide a forum for publishing original research, allowing scholars to share their findings, interpretations, and methodologies with a broader audience.

With their rigorous editorial standards and dedication to academic excellence, criminal justice journals significantly contribute to the understanding, interpreting, and applying justice-related issues. They are indispensable repositories of scholarly research, critical analysis, and intellectual debate within the criminal justice community.

Covering a wide range of topics, from legal studies to forensic science, these journals offer invaluable insights into the complexities of crime, law, and justice, fostering a deeper understanding of criminal justice systems, policies, and practices. By publishing work from leading scholars in the field, criminal justice journals contribute to the ongoing development of the discipline and the refinement of key debates within it.

Moreover, criminal justice journals are crucial in shaping research direction, identifying emerging trends, and encouraging interdisciplinary dialogue. Whether accessed in print or online, they are essential resources for researchers, students, and practitioners seeking to engage critically with the evolving landscape of criminal justice.

American Journal of Criminal Justice The American Journal of Criminal Justice, the official journal of the Southern Criminal Justice Association, is a peer reviewed publication; manuscripts go through a blind review process. The focus of the Journal is on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues. Some of these concerns include items pertaining to the criminal justice process, the formal and informal interplay between system components, problems and solutions experienced by various segments, innovative practices, policy development and implementation, evaluative research, the players engaged in these enterprises, and a wide assortment of other related interests. The American Journal of Criminal Justice publishes original articles that utilize a broad range of methodologies and perspectives when examining crime, law, and criminal justice processing.
Artificial Intelligence and Law Artificial Intelligence and Law is an international forum for the dissemination of original interdisciplinary research in the following areas: Theoretical or empirical studies in artificial intelligence (AI), cognitive psychology, jurisprudence, linguistics, or philosophy which address the development of formal or computational models of legal knowledge, reasoning, and decision making. In-depth studies of innovative artificial intelligence systems that are being used in the legal domain. Studies which address the legal, ethical and social implications of the field of Artificial Intelligence and Law.
California Law Review Founded in 1912, the California Law Review was the first student law journal published west of Illinois. The Review is published six times a year, in January, March, May, July, October, and December. Each issue contains articles, book reviews, and essays contributed by non-student authors -- professors and members of the bench and bar -- as well as student notes and comments. The Review is edited and published by students at the University of California, Berkeley School of Law (Boalt Hall).
Columbia Law Rew Founded in 1901, the Columbia Law Review is a leader in legal scholarship in the United States and around the world. The Review is an independent nonprofit corporation edited and published entirely by students at Columbia Law School. Published eight times a year, the Review is the third most widely distributed and cited law review in the country, receiving close to 1,500 submissions yearly from which approximately 25 manuscripts are chosen for publication.
Cornell Law Review Founded in 1915, the Cornell Law Review is a student-run and student-edited journal that strives to publish novel scholarship that will have an immediate and lasting impact on the legal community. The Cornell Law Review publishes seven print issues annually consisting of articles, essays, book reviews, and student notes.
Criminology Criminology is devoted to the study of crime and deviant behavior. Interdisciplinary in scope, the journal publishes articles that advance the theoretical and research agenda of criminology and criminal justice.
The Georgetown Law Journal. he Georgetown Law Journal is headquartered at Georgetown Law in Washington, D.C. and has published more than 500 issues since its inception, as well as the widely used Annual Review of Criminal Procedure (ARCP). The Journal is currently, and always has been, run by law students. Volume 1, Issue 1 was published in November 1912, under the supervision of Editor-in-Chief Eugene Quay. At the time, an annual subscription to the Journal cost one dollar. The first article was titled “The 125th Anniversary of the Drafting of the Constitution of the United States.”
Government Information Quarterly Government Information Quarterly is an international journal that examines the intersection of policy, information technology, government, and the public. In particular, GIQ focuses on how policies affect government information flows and the availability of government information; the use of technology to create and provide innovative government services; the impact of information technology on the relationship between the governed and those governing; and the increasing significance of information policies and information technology in relation to democratic practices.
Harvard Law Review The Harvard Law Review publishes articles by professors, judges, and practitioners and solicits reviews of important recent books from recognized experts. Each issue also contains pieces by student editors. Published monthly from November through June, the Review has roughly 2,000 pages per volume. All articles--even those by the most respected authorities--are subjected to a rigorous editorial process designed to sharpen and strengthen substance and tone. The November issue contains the Supreme Court Foreword (usually by a prominent constitutional scholar), the faculty Case Comment, twenty-five Case Notes (analyses by third-year students of the most important decisions of the previous Supreme Court Term), and a compilation of Court statistics. The February issue features the annual Developments in the Law project, an in-depth treatment of an important area of the law.
International Organization International Organization is a leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs. Subject areas include: foreign policies, international relations, international and comparative political economy, security policies, environmental disputes and resolutions, European integration, alliance patterns and war, bargaining and conflict resolution, economic development and adjustment, and international capital movements.
Journal of Business Ethics The Journal of Business Ethics publishes only original articles from a wide variety of methodological and disciplinary perspectives concerning ethical issues related to business that bring something new or unique to the discourse in their field. Since its initiation in 1980, the editors have encouraged the broadest possible scope. The term 'business' is understood in a wide sense to include all systems involved in the exchange of goods and services, while 'ethics' is circumscribed as all human action aimed at securing a good life. Systems of production, consumption, marketing, advertising, social and economic accounting, labour relations, public relations and organisational behaviour are analysed from a moral viewpoint. The style and level of dialogue involve all who are interested in business ethics - the business community, universities, government agencies and consumer groups.
Michigan Law Review The Michigan Law Review began publication in 1902 and is the sixth oldest legal journal in the country. The Review originally was intended as a forum for the faculty of the Law Department to publish their legal scholarship. From its inception until 1940, the Review's student members worked under the direction of faculty members who served as Editor-in-Chief. In 1940, the first student Editor-in-Chief was selected. During the years that followed, student editors were given increasing responsibility and autonomy; today, the Review is run with no faculty supervision. Seven of each volume's eight issues ordinarily are composed of articles by legal scholars and practitioners, and notes written by the student editors. One issue in each volume is devoted to book reviews. Occasionally special issues are devoted to symposia or colloquia.
Stanford Law Review Founded in 1948, the Stanford Law Review is a general-interest academic legal journal. Each year the Law Review publishes one volume, which appears in six separate issues between November and May. Each issue contains material written by student members of the Law Review, other Stanford law students, and outside contributors, such as law professors, judges, and practicing lawyers. Approximately 2,600 libraries, attorneys, judges, law firms, government agencies, and others subscribe to the Law Review. The Law Review also hosts lectures and an annual live symposium at Stanford Law School.
University of Pennsylvania Law Review Founded in 1852 as the American Law Register, the University of Pennsylvania Law Review is the nation's oldest law review. The Law Review has both a professional and an educational mission. It serves the legal profession, the bench, the bar, and the academy by providing a forum for the publication of original legal research of the highest quality. We accept and scrutinize approximately 2,000 written submissions annually to select approximately twelve articles in each volume.
Yale Law & Police Review Founded in 1982, the Yale Law & Policy Review (YLPR) is a biannual publication of the Yale Law School dedicated to publishing legal scholarship and policy proposals by lawmakers, judges, practitioners, academics, and students.

An Electronic Journal (or E-journal) is a traditional journal that is in an electronic format; either because it was originally created that way, or because someone took a print journal article and scanned it to make it available electronically.

A Database is what is created when a large number of electronic journals are put in one place and a search interface (usually a search box) is added to help find what you need. Both databases and electronic journals can be subject specific. When you have a database that only has the title or abstract, but not the full text, it is usually referred to as an Index.

Last updated on Mar 7, 2025 3:01 PM