Selectors' Guide to Collection Development: Material Suggestions

• Materials Suggestion Form requests are emailed to Collection Management.
• Collection Management staff will check Oasis to see under which Approval fund the book's slip was sent. If no slip was sent, she will check to see what its designated LC call number is. This will determine which selector receives the request. 
• A representative from Collection Management responds to the requestor and copies the appropriate subject selector. They will also copy the department selector, if applicable. For example, if a Political Science professor requests a book that falls in the Sociology subject area per Oasis or WorldCat, the Political Science selector as well as the Sociology selector will be copied. The Sociology selector will order the book and notify the Political Science professor.
  • Monographs
    • ​The subject selector is responsible for keeping track of the request and working with the requestor in purchasing the item, if funds are available.
  • Journals
    • ​For electronic journals, the title is added to the journal desiderata.
    • The subject selector will be notified if and when the library is able to move forward with a subscription. The selector should then notify the requestor.
  • Databases/Journal Archives or Packages
    • ​The item is added to the e-resources desiderata.
    • The subject selector will be notified if and when the library is able to move forward with a subscription or purchase. The selector should then notify the requestor.
  • Videos
    • ​Collection Management staff is responsible for keeping track of the request and working with the requestor in purchasing or licensing the item, if funds are available.
    • The relevant subject selector(s) will be included in any email discussions.
    • Most requests for DVDs and streaming videos from faculty and students are filled.
    • Institutional pricing for videos tends to be between $150-$495. 

Faculty may sometimes contact a selector via email or campus mail.

• Selectors are responsible for responding to the requests in a timely manner and for keeping track of them as they move from selection to acquisition to cataloging and access.
• Keep track of the number of requests you receive so that these figures can be included in your monthly report.

• Monographs may be routed to the selector, and the selector can have the item placed on the Hold shelf at the Service Desk.
  • When submitting your order to Collection Management, ask them to Route the item to you.
    • Oasis Orders - In the "Note" field, type in all caps: ROUTE TO [YOUR NAME] (e.g. ROUTE TO K. Frankel)
    • Using ORFs - In the "Notes/Routing" section near the bottom, write: Route to [your name] (e.g. Route to K. Frankel)
  • Take a slip of paper and write the faculty member's last name.
  • Place the item on the shelf.
  • Contact the faculty member and give them a week or two to pick up the item.
• Videos may be routed to Steven Matthew who will notify the faculty member when a DVD becomes available in the Media Center.
  • Collection Management staff will contact Steven via email and give him the instructor's name and email address.