LibGuides: U.S. Census, Statistical &amp; Data-Related Resources: U.S. Census, Population, and Demographic Data

The U.S. Constitution requires only that the decennial census be a population count. However, since the first census in 1790, the need for helpful information about the United States population and economy became increasingly evident.

The decennial census steadily expanded throughout the nineteenth century. By the turn of the century, the decennial census's demographic, agricultural, and economic segments collected information on hundreds of topics. Processing these data kept the temporary Census Office open for almost all the decades following the 1880 and 1890 censuses.

Recognizing the growing complexity of the decennial census, Congress enacted legislation creating a permanent Census Office within the Department of the Interior on March 6, 1902. On July 1, 1902, the U.S. Census Bureau officially "opened its doors" under the leadership of William Rush Merriam.

1903, the Census Office was moved to the newly created Department of Commerce and Labor. It remained within Commerce when Commerce and Labor split into separate departments in 1913.

For a summary history of the Census Bureau, see Factfinder for the Nation: History and Organization.

For a visual chronology of the census history from 1790 to the present, see the Timeline of Census History.

Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau serves as the leading source of data about the people and economy of the United States. In addition to taking a census of the population every 10 years, the Census Bureau conducts censuses of economic activity and state and local governments every five years. The Census Bureau conducts more than 100 other surveys every year.

For even more "How to" videos from the U.S. Census Bureau, visit https://www.census.gov/data/academy/data-gems.html

Locating and Using Census Data

American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Census Business Builder
Demographic and Economic Census data tool designed for Business with ability to show demographic, consumer, and social statistics and to locate number of like business establishments on map and generate a report. (GEB 3213)
Census Geocoder
To search by address and identify tract number.
CensusScope.org
Census 2010 data presented in such a way that it can be understood by the novice user. Included are charts and trends, maps, population rankings and information on segregation
Citing Census Information
Help for citing data retrieved from the U.S. Census Bureau.
City-Data.com
Uses census and data from other sources to give local profiles.
County Business Patterns
Search in the latest (2017) data from Census Bureau.
Data.census.gov Video Tutorials
Video Tutorials from the U.S. Census Bureau. Their team is excited to share with you our favorite tips and tricks about how to use data.census.gov, Census API, and Microdata Access.
Decennial Census by Decade
This section follows the evolution of the decennial census by detailing the events surrounding each of them. Political and technological changes, and the shifting public demand for information, have all shaped the modern census and the mission of the Census Bureau.
Economic Data for States
Latest available data sets for U.S. locations including counties and zip codes (includes Building Permits statistics for most geographies).
Explore Census Data (data.census.org)
Locate data from the Decennial Census and American Community Survey.
Florida Profile
State profile from data.census.gov.
MCDC Data Links
Fast and easy way to find census data for smaller geographies.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Broad array of statistics from the nation which ceased publication in 2012 but is continued by ProQuest database.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-2012)
Broad array of statistics from the nation which ceased publication in 2012 but is continued by ProQuest database.
StatsAmerica
Portal to U.S. data from the Economic Development Administration.
U.S. Population Census Stats 1910-2020
Population change is the rate of change in population between decennial census years. While every census region grew considerably during the twentieth century, the South and West experienced the largest increases in population. State changes are also included.
U.S. Quick Facts Tables
State and County QuickFacts, produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, provides summary profile tables showing frequently requested data items from various Census Bureau programs. Profiles are available for the nation as a whole, as well as for individual states, counties, and large cities. Construct tables and compare states, cities, or counties. (GEB 3213)

Historic Census Data

In addition to the links below, an advanced Google search of the Census website is often useful. Simply search Google for your key terms along with site:census.gov.

Censuses - Topic Guide
A guide from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) highlighting their collection of census information
Census of Population and Housing (1790-)
Data tables with population and housing data from decennial census.
FreeDemographics
Demographic data, market insights, interactive maps, detailed summary and comparison reports, and fast access to U.S. Census data sorted by geographies and demographic characteristics.
HathiTrust
Digitial library with full-text copies of census materials.
Historic Census Reports
Census of Population and Housing from the Decennial Census 1790-2024
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
Index of Census Questions
Index of questions as on the census form 1790-2010.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000
This report includes the census questionnaire and instructions for each census and individual census histories are also provided.
National Archives
Full-text resources and links for data 1790-current census.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Database of census data 1790-present
Statistical Abstracts (1878-2012)
Social, political, and economic statistics for the U.S.

U.S. & State Demographic Data & Other Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. (This is FAU Database Resource - will require login to access)

Florida Data At Your Fingertips
BEBR Produces Florida’s Official State And Local Population Estimates And Projections. These estimates and projections are used for distributing state revenue-sharing dollars to cities and counties in Florida and for budgeting, planning, and policy analysis by state and local government agencies, businesses, researchers, the media, and members of the general public.
HUD Data Sets
The Housing and Urban Development's Office of Policy Development and Research offers several data sets, including ones in a machine-readable format.
IPUMS
IPUMS provides micro-level census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. The data is useful for studying change, doing comparative research, merging information across data types, and analyzing individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services are available free of charge.
Property Taxes By State
A property tax is a municipal tax levied by counties, cities, or special tax districts on most types of real estate - including homes, businesses, and parcels of land. The amount of property tax owed depends on the appraised fair market value of the property, as determined by the property tax assessor.

Because the calculations used to determine property taxes vary widely from county to county, the best way to compare property taxes on a large scale is by using aggregate data. On Tax-Rates.org, our data allows you to compare property taxes across states and counties by median property tax in dollars, median property tax as percentage of home value, and several other benchmarks.

You can use the property tax map above to view the relative yearly property tax burden across the United States, measured as percentage of home value. To estimate your yearly property tax in any county based on these statistics, you can use our property tax calculator. To find more detailed property tax statistics for your area, find your county in the list on your state's page.
State Economic Development Sites
Information from state & local governments concerning the business environment and incentives for locating in a given area.
State Tax Rates
Report on various state taxes, such as corporate and personal income taxes, from the Federation of Tax Administrators.
U.S. State Rankings
U.S. News & World Report

World Demographic Data

United Nations Data
Provides access to 34 databases on many topics including trade, tourism, population, economics, and health
World Data Atlas
Wide variety of statistics on topics including population, economics, education, environment, human rights, and much more
The World Factbook
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Apps, Tools, & Data Visualization

Census Infographics & Visualizations
An interactive visualization of data from the 2010 decennial census.
OnTheMap
a web-based mapping and reporting application that shows where workers are employed and where they live. It also provides companion reports on age, earnings, industry distributions, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, and sex.

Find even more tools and apps at census.gov/data/data-tools.html.