Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Hierarchy of Evidence, Types of Evidence, & Background Information Sources
Nursing Databases: Find Publications
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This resource provides access to journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Subjects include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, this resource provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Coverage also includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials.
Ovid Online Access is limited to 1 or 3 simultaneous users for some content.
Includes Journals@Ovid Full Text and Books@Ovid.
MEDLINE/PubMed PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: The Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, the content will be of use to both professionals in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Protocols, Guidelines, and Standards of Care or Practice
Find theses and dissertations from FAU and other colleges and universities!
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses Provides access to to over 8 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Dissertations & Theses @ Florida Atlantic University
A digital library of dissertations and theses from Florida Atlantic University.
Finding the Evidence in the Library - Nursing
Books in the FAU Libraries
Introduction to Nursing Research (3rd Ed.) by The Third Edition of Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating Evidence-Based Practice emphasizes the meaning of evidence and how it relates to research, and includes current information and updated references. With brand new chapters and practical examples that provide context for students, this text is surely the best available resource for nursing students today.
Call Number: RT81.5.I5844 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice by TABLE OF CONTENTS: Introduction to nursing research in an evidence-based practice environment -- Evidence-based nursing: translating research evidence into practice -- Key concepts and steps in qualitative and quantitative research -- Research problems, research questions, and hypotheses -- Literature reviews: finding and critiquing evidence -- Theoretical frameworks -- Ethics in nursing research -- Planning a nursing study -- Quantitative research design -- Rigor and validity in quantitative research -- Specific types of quantitative research -- Sampling in quantitative research -- Data collection in quantitative research -- Measurement and data quality -- Developing and testing self-report scales -- Descriptive statistics -- Inferential statistics -- Multivariate statistics -- Processes of quantitative data analysis -- Clinical significance and interpretation of quantitative results -- Qualitative research design and approaches -- Sampling in qualitative research -- Data collection in qualitative research -- Qualitative data analysis -- Trustworthiness and integrity in qualitative research -- Basics of mixed methods research -- Developing complex nursing interventions using mixed methods research -- Feasibility assessments and pilot tests of interventions using mixed methods -- Systematic reviews of research evidence: meta-analysis, metasynthesis, and mixed studies review -- Disseminating evidence: reporting research findings -- Writing proposals to generate evidence.
Call Number: RT81.5 .P64 2017 (Boca Raton Campus
Publication Date: 2017
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing is an accessible and comprehensive learning tool for nurses returning to graduate school or in a professional role. Peer reviewed and course tested, this text presents statistics in a readable, user-friendly format to meet the learning needs of students. The text includes key terms, critical thinking questions, and case studies incorporating research and evidence-based practice to help nurses connect statistics with everyday work in the healthcare field. Key Features: * Screenshots throughout each chapter guide students through applying statistics using SPSS * Key terms serve as a tool to guide and focus study * Critical Thinking Questions allow students to apply what they have learned * Self-Quizzes reinforce key concepts at the end of each chapter Accompanied by Instructor Resources: * Save time with a Test Bank * Plan classroom lectures using PowerPoint Presentations created for each chapter * Review answers to Critical Thinking Questions and Self-Quizzes found in the text
Call Number: RT68.K49 2013 (Boca Raton and HBOI Campuses)
Publication Date: 2013
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare (2nd Ed.) by Thoroughly updated and now in full color, the Second Edition of this best-selling book is a user-friendly guide to implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and healthcare. "Real-life" examples assist readers in actualizing important concepts and overcoming barriers to implementation of evidence-based care. This edition contains a new chapter on implementing evidence in clinical settings and emphasizes all the steps needed in making evidence-based practice part of a sustainable healthcare culture. Web alerts direct readers to Internet resources to further develop evidence-based practice knowledge and skills. A bound-in CD-ROM contains checklists and other guides to aid readers in formulating clinical questions and appraising various types of quantitative and qualitative evidence.
Call Number: RT42.M44 2011 (HBOI Campus)
Publication Date: 2010