Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Electronic Journals and Databases
Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.
What is a database?
Indexes and Databases are collections of academic journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
All of the databases in this discipline can be found in our Engineering and Technology databases section.
This database has comprehensive focus on trade, technical and scientific literature concerning all aspects of water resources.
Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
This is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. It contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
This database provides detailed abstracts and indexing of the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. EIS extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (Proquest)
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)
Provides coverage of the field of environmental issues and policy, including nearly 200 journals.
Environmental Studies in Video
Environmental Studies in Video covers all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science. The collection addresses specific topics including alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.
Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
Indexes broad scientific research pertaining to all forms of pollution including air, water, waste, radioactive material and toxic emissions, as well as land and noise.
SciFinder Users must register with SciFinder. Click here for a video tutorial on registering. After registration, use the link above to access SciFinder off campus (users must be logged into EZproxy when off campus).
Provides comprehensive chemical and related scientific information including journal articles, patents, chemical reactions, and chemical regulatory data.
Water Resources Abstracts
Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources.
Web of Science
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
RefWorks Help and Info
Florida Atlantic University’s subscription to the RefWorks citation management software ends December 31, 2020. The University’s subscription is funded by the Florida Academic Library Services Cooperative (FALSC), which is foregoing subscription renewal. FAU-subscribed RefWorks account holders will need to export their sources to a different citation manager by January 31, 2021. To help facilitate this transition, the FAU Libraries offers a variety of free web-based alternatives. To see other options for reference management software, please view the Citation Tools LibGuide. For questions, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
RefWorks continues to bring updated ways to
- collect, manage and organize research papers and documents.
- read, annotate, organize, and cite your research
- Download and keep PDF copies of articles within RefWorks
- collaborate with friends and colleagues by sharing collections.
RefWorks’ drag and drop capability makes it easy and fast to
- upload documents and bibliographic metadata into your library
Save to RefWorks feature allows you to
- capture research from websites with the click of a button.