Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Electronic Journals and Databases
Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.
To request books from other FAU campus libraries, or other libraries, use Interlibrary Loan. Loan time takes 7-10 days, so don't wait until the last minute!
BioOne brings to the Web an aggregation of the full texts of high-impact bioscience research journals. Our full text availability covers publications added through June 30, 2020.
1,100+ scholarly journals in engineering, science, and social science disciplines.
IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Digital Library
Includes access to the abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards and redline versions; and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Web of Science
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Wiley Online Library
Nearly 1,500 online publications for researchers and professionals.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
Provides access to to over 8 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Last updated on Mar 15, 2021 2:49 PM