LibGuides: Mathematical Sciences: Professional Organizations and Publishing in Mathematics

Professional and Math Education Organizations

Professional organizations can be valuable sources of the following:

Internships and Jobs
Educational Opportunities
Conferences
News and Updates
Grants and Scholarships

See the following links to learn about what they have going on and what they can offer!

American Mathematical Society (AMS)
American Statistical Association (Amstat)
The Chinese Mathematical Society
European Mathematical Society
International Association for Cryptologic Research The International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR) is a non-profit scientific organization whose purpose is to further research in cryptology and related fields. Cryptology is the science and practice of designing computation and communication systems which are secure in the presence of adversaries.
Mathematical Association of America (MAA)
National Association of Mathematicians
SACNAS: Advancing Chicanos/Hispanics & Native Americans in Science SACNAS is an inclusive organization dedicated to fostering the success of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.

Math Education Organizations

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators (AMTE) AMTE is the largest professional organization devoted to the improvement of mathematics teacher education — it includes over 1,000 members supporting the preservice education and professional development of preK-16 teachers of mathematics. Members include professors, researchers, teacher-leaders, school mathematics coordinators, policy experts, graduate students, and others.
The Benjamin Banneker Association The Benjamin Banneker Association, Inc. is a national non-profit organization and partner affiliate with the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), dedicated to mathematics education advocacy, establishing a presence for leadership, and professional development to support teachers in leveling the playing field for mathematics learning of the highest quality for African-American students.
Florida Council of Teachers in Mathematics (FCTM)
Mathematical Association of America Florida Section
National Math & Science Initiative

Publishing in Mathematics and Bibliographic Management Software

American Mathematical Society (AMS) Author Resource Center This page has links to the use of LaTeX and TeX-related resources. It also provides information on Mathematical Reviews Tools to create references and provide linking capabilities.
AMS Style Guide Full content of American Mathematical Society (AMS) Style Guide (2017). Warning: slow download of this 157-page PDF file.
The LaTeX Project Provides general documentation on LaTex including typesetting, source code documentation, and some world language documentation resources. It also provides information on getting LaTex software, assistance, and information about upcoming versions.
Researcher Academy (Elsevier) Recommended for STEM upperclassmen and graduate students. Free e-learning modules covering the peer-review process, preparing manuscripts, career advice, and other processes in scholarship and scholarly communication.
How to Write Your First Paper (By Steven G. Krantz) Published in Notices of the AMS in December 2007.
Advice for Amateur Mathematicians on Writing and Publishing Papers (By Henry Cohn) This researcher and adjunct professor of mathematics gives some advice for mathematicians who want to start publishing.
Scholarly Publishing (Scholarly Communication Services Research Guide)
Author Copyright Agreements (Research Guide)

Bibliographic Management Software

Need to store information about the books and articles you find in one place? Want a tool to help with citations and formatting them in an assignment or manuscript? If so, consider using bibliographic management software!

BibTEX
EndNote EndNote® enables you to move seamlessly through your research process with flexible tools for searching, organizing and sharing your research, creating your bibliography and writing your paper. You can sync your EndNote library across your desktop, online, and iPad so all your references, attachments, and groups can be accessed from anywhere.
more... less...

Trial versions and purchases of EndNote can be found at their web page. In addition, it is available for purchase through FAU OIT. For information on obtaining a discount for current FAU students and affiliates, go to MyFAU.
Mendeley Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. It is used especially by people in the sciences.

Last updated on Jun 25, 2025 4:19 PM