Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Subject Terms for Womens Studies
The following is a partial list of subject headings related to Women Studies that can be used to locate books and other items in the FAU Libraries Catalog.
- African American feminists
- African American women
- Feminism and Art
- Feminism and Literature
- Feminist Motion Pictures
- Feminist Criticism
- Feminist Theory
- Mass Media and Women
- Minority Women
- Women Authors, Cuban
- Women, Hawaiian
- Women's Rights--United States
- Women's Studies
NEW - OpenAthens: authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!
Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.
OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
America: History and Life
Covers United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present.
Black Women Writers
With 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, Black Women Writers brings together the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora in electronic format for the first time. Facing sexism and racism at the same time, these authors have had to create their own identities and movements. This collection documents that effort from its earliest beginnings
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW full-text titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Free index that features citations to journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews about women, sexuality, and gender in the Middle Ages. Books by single authors are not indexed here.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
This collection of journals aims to provide balanced coverage of this significant aspect of our culture, covering such topics as gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, and many more.
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.
Indexes journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in a companion database America: History and Life).
Includes Humanities Full Text, Humanities Index Retrospective and additional content.
Subject areas include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology.
Latin American Women Writers
With 100,000 pages of prose, poetry, and essays, and 300 plays, Latin American Women Writers accomplishes the difficult task of bringing together the most important writers from 19 countries, as well as the works of the principal feminists, in one single collection.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Contents/Info: This collection from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society brings together 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
North American Women's Drama
Contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the play.
PsycNET provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines by bringing together the PsycINFO index, PsycARTICLES, PsycTests, APA Books, and APA Handbooks. This database includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Brings together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Scholar's Edition
The resource, which examines perspectives on women’s social movements from Colonial times to the present, brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities. This edition includes the Women's Commission Reports.
Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities
Student Tech Fee Funded
Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Global in scope and offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.