LibGuides: Electrical Engineering: Get Articles

What is a database?

Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Selected Databases

Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in engineering, science, technology, health, and social science disciplines.

InTech - Open Science Open Mind
Open Access portal of engineering journals and ebooks

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal, magazine and newsletter articles. In addition, this resource provides access to transactions, conference proceedings and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature.
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. It contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications.

Funded by statewide allocation.
IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards and redline versions; and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Includes Physics Abstracts, Computer and Control Abstracts, and Electrical and Electronics Abstracts. The largest English language file of bibliographic information and abstracts on the world's output of published works in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology. Covers scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Inspec Archive This link opens in a new window
The Inspec Archive provides access to historical scientific records in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics computing and control engineering. With the digitizing of the entire collection of Science Abstracts Journals, which are the precursors to the Inspec database, librarians, academics and students are provided access to over 873,000 abstract records spanning the years 1898 through 1968.

JCR: Journal Citation Reports
Provides publisher-neutral data, statistics, and citation metrics about scholarly research, as well as a journal’s role within and influence upon the global research community. Includes access to the Journal Impact Factor™ (JIF).

METADEX This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

O'Reilly for Higher Education
Provides an on-demand digital library that delivers content in both book and video form from leading authors in technology and business. Formerly Safari Books Online.
Generously funded by the FAU Student Government Association.

Electronic Journals and Databases

Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.

Off Campus Connect

Access to our licensed Electronic Resources off-campus

Many of the electronic resources offered by the FAU Libraries are restricted to currently registered students, staff, and faculty of the University. When connecting to these services from off-campus you are required to let the system know you are currently affiliated with FAU. Please click on the OpenAthens link below to log into OpenAthens in order to access our licensed resources.

OpenAthens